Stay-At-Home Mom Battles Bugs and Wins!

Scout is just over 3 months old, and I love staying home to take care of her and soak up as much of her cuteness as possible.

But being at home also stinks.

Here’s why:

Bugs

I hate bugs. All of them. And last week they teamed up on me.

Never have I ever been stung by a bee, so I’m especially scared of them because I am terrified by the unknown.

I mean, look at childbirth. I’d never been through that before and that was awful. I’m sure bee stings are equally as awful.

So the bee is buzzing around the kitchen window.

I wish the bee looked this friendly.

I decided to grab some paper towels to wrap around my hand to protect it, so I could reach next to the bee to unlatch and open the window.

One problem. There was a spider on the paper towels.

Seriously? Seriously.

A bee and a spider? At the same time. Life is so unfair.

I’ve read Scary Stores to Tell in the Dark, and I know what happens when spiders bite you. This:

So I had a choice to make: bee sting or spider bite.

I decided to take on the bee sans paper towel shield. Luckily, the bee flew out the window without a stinging incident.

Then I ripped off the paper towel and dropped itΒ in the trash and took it outside.

But that’s the downside to being a stay-at-home mom. You have to risk your life to take care of the creepy crawlies yourself.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

28 responses to “Stay-At-Home Mom Battles Bugs and Wins!

  • addercatter

    Last night as I had just layed down in bed with my tablet to watch Netflix, a Gigantic Mutant Flying Cockroach looking bug landed on my pillow! I screamed and jumped out of bed to turn on the light… and… it was GONE!!!
    I immediately shut the door and went to go sleep in my daughter’s bed…
    I feel your pain. Except you are much braver than I am.

  • mistyslaws

    If that’s the worst of it, sign me up!

  • swo8

    I’m glad you are appreciating being home with your child. Believe me, your child would rather have you there than anyone else. So tough out the bugs. You handled that one pretty well, nothing can stop you now.
    Leslie

  • LauraALord

    I am deathly terrified of spiders. When my daughter (first child) was finally big enough to sit in her high chair, I remember feeding her and I turned around for a moment to pick up something she’d thrown. When I looked back, a spider was dangling from the ceiling right between baby and me.

    So I did the only thing a mom can do…I used my foot to propel the highchair across the kitchen floor while I scrambled backwards, grabbed a fly swatter, and beat that thing into the floor.

    My daughter found it all rather funny.

  • Choc Chip Uru

    You are incredible. I would teach my baby how to get rid of them first thing because I am so scared!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  • Kara

    I think bees will only sting you if they’re severely cheesed off. Wasps, on the other hand, are hostile little bastards and will sting the sh!t out of you repeatedly.

    Spiders though? F that noise. I’d be outta there.

  • xoruby21

    I couldn’t help laughing at this post. I can totally relate anything the creeps and crawls i somehow find crazy ways to get rid of them that half the time my husband just comes and does it in two seconds. my hero lol

  • Heather @ Sugar Dish Me

    Where[‘s the cat? Cats solve all my home-alone bug problems.

  • susielindau

    I have never been afraid of bugs, toads, snakes. I will avoid those pesky yellow jackets like the plague since I’m allergic! I don’t want to blow up like a puffer fish!

  • Holly Connors

    So funny. I’m allergic to bees but would take a bee sting over the pain of childbirth any day. If only childbirth was over that quick πŸ˜‰ good on you for trying to be brave. Here in Australia you just learn to accept bugs. Most aren’t so bad…

  • bevchen

    I’d rather have a bee than a wasp! bees only sting when they have to, wasps are evil!I’m sure they take pleasure in scaring people.

    And nobody ever told me I had to become a mum before being forced to deal with creepy crawlies!

  • AbsentElemental

    My solution to bugs is a flamethrower. Some people may say it’s overkill, while other people (perhaps even the same people) say that flamethrowers aren’t safe to use around children. I’m sure those people are part of the ever-dangerous Bug Protection League though.

  • pegoleg

    You are a super-brave mama lion protecting her cub. Roar.

  • Dana

    You couldn’t bee any luckier to have spied her! πŸ™‚

  • omawarisan

    Wait, you’ve never been stung by a bee? Are you familiar with the place called “outside”?

  • Betty

    I made it to age 47 before ever being stung by a bee. I was nervous because I just didn’t know if I’d have an allergic reaction.

  • Laura

    I’m glad you survived your ordeal. I once seriously considered burning down my house because of an ant infestation.

  • Dana

    Last night I went to turn the light off, and there was a huge spider on the light switch. I just took a few tissues, wadded them up, and squished the spider against the light switch plate. Then I used the other side of the tissue wad to clean the spider smudge off of the light switch plate.

  • Don't Quote Lily

    Double whammy, ugh! The only good thing about winter vs summer is that there are significantly fewer bugs around. I had a stink bug and a small bee at the same time the other day. Since when do bees team up with other bugs? *Cringes*

  • 1pointperspective

    I killed a giant wasp the other day…or so I thought…he landed in an inaccessible spot after I nailed him with the swatter. Half an hour later he was climbing up the wall, looking for vengeance, and I had to kill him a second time.

  • The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    oh that made me laugh. And I remember that book!! Those stories corrupted my brain. Also, if you think bees are scary, watch out for wasps. Worse stings ever. I’d take a bee any day.

  • Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd

    I found a tick crawling on me while I was sitting on the couch. I no longer feel safe in my home.

  • brickhousechick

    I thought of you when I saw this. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ http://www.pinterest.com/pin/433330795367284731/

  • Sinfully Tempting

    Love this post! I am not afraid of all insects, but spiders are my biggest downfall. I force my husband and son to take care of them. Just last week I had a “stand off” with a spider while waiting for the hubby to kill it. I watched it, it watched me…this went on for about 5 minutes. I was paralyzed with fear! On those horrible occasions where I’m the only one around to do the job, I look for the safest way possible to get rid of them. I’ve even gone so far as to use the vacuum cleaner and then set it outside until my husband gets home to empty it. EEEK! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

