Hello, IT Help Desk? My Computer Is About to Explode

Lately, work has had network problems. First, the oldest version of Internet Explorer possible was interfering with my blogging market research. Then we couldn’t access our shared drives, and then our printers weren’t working.

Then everyone else could print…except me.

After following the instructions, then trying my own way, and then having a coworker try, I realized it wasn’t something I could fix, and I would need to call the Help Desk.

Ugh.

If you’ve never had to call a Help Desk, this is summary of how that goes:

IT Person: Is your computer on? (This is optimistic. Sometimes they ask if your computer is plugged in.)

Thoughtsy: Yes.

IT Person: Are you sure?

Thoughtsy: Yes.

IT Person: Please confirm that the power icon is lit up.

Thoughtsy: It is.

IT Person: Let’s try restarting your computer.

Thoughtsy: I did that already.

IT Person: Let’s do it again.

Thoughtsy: Ok. It’s back up. (Sometimes I don’t actually restart. If you do this, wait the appropriate amount of time.)

IT Person: Is your computer on?

Thoughtsy: Yes.

IT Person: Please confirm that the power icon is lit up.

Thoughtsy: Yes…no…well, it’s blinking red and smoking. Holy crap! Now it’s spitting out M&Ms. AWESOME!

IT Person: Are you finished?

Thoughtsy: ::head hung in shame:: Yes.

IT Person: Do I have your permission to access your computer remotely?

Thoughtsy: ::closing blog, personal email, and map to buried treasure:: Yes.

Then you watch as the IT person does the exact same thing you tried…and it still doesn’t work.

Favorite Comment From Last Post: “I don’t know why you can’t just be a REAL woman and drop that thing in the field, then go back to picking cotton. Damn.”—Mistyslaws

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

25 responses to “Hello, IT Help Desk? My Computer Is About to Explode

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

