Do You Hear the Words That Are Coming Outta My Mouth?

No one listens to me. Ever. I’m not sure if it’s the quietness of my voice or the fact that I sound like a child, but for some reason, I’m constantly saying, “I told you so.” Except I’m too nice to actually say it.

At the end of June, I made an appointment to have my wedding dress altered. Here’s how that phone call went.

Thoughtsy: Hello, I need to make an alterations appointment for my wedding dress.

Seamstress: When is your wedding?

Thoughtsy: September 7th.

Seamstress: Oh my…you need to come in right away.

Thoughtsy: Yeah…that’s not going to happen. I’m about to move, and then I’m headed to Greece. The earliest I can come in is the end of July. Plus…I’m pregnant. I don’t think you want to do the alterations too soon.

Another lady calls me back, and I tell her I’m pregnant, and she’s not sure the end of July is enough time. A third lady calls me and says everything will be fine as long as I come in as soon as I return from Greece.

I take the afternoon off work, put the dress on, and come out of the fitting room.

Seamstress: I see in your file you’re a mother-to-be. Congratulations!

Thoughtsy: Thanks!

Seamstress: We don’t like to do alterations on mothers to be this soon. We like to wait until about 3 weeks out. So let’s make another appointment for you.

Translation: This appointment was 100% usless. Sorry to have wasted your time.

Thoughtsy: W…T…F….

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

15 responses to “Do You Hear the Words That Are Coming Outta My Mouth?

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

