Why Yes, I Am Sandra Bullock

On my way home from Greece, I had a layover in Munich. While I was at the airport, a lady approached me and asked to sit down. She was very sweet, but she may have also been crazy.

Lady: Is anyone sitting here?

Me: No. Please sit down.

Lady: Thank you. I thought you were Miss Congeniality.

Me: I’m sorry?

Lady: What’s her name?

Me: Sandra Bullock?

Lady: Yes! I thought you were her.

The only thing Sandra Bullock and I have in common is long dark hair. Period.

Actually…I do look a little like Sandra Bullock in this picture.

Me: Thanks! I’ll take that as a compliment.

Lady: Or Jennifer Aniston. You look like her, too.

At this point, I slid all my bags closer to me because I was sure she was trying to distract me while someone stole my stuff. No one did, so I’ve come to these conclusions:

  1. I look old. Aniston and Bullock both have over 10 years on me.
  2. That lady needs her eyes checked.
  3. That lady hasn’t seen either actress in a very long time.

Have you ever been mistaken for someone famous?

Favorite Comment From Last Post: “You ate baklava without me? Are you trying to kill me?!”—Sarah9188

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

25 responses to “Why Yes, I Am Sandra Bullock

  • Chase McFadden

    Were you chugging a beer with a mouthful of Pop-Tart at the time? If so, I can definitely see it.

  • Shannon

    I was once told I looked like someone from a movie I’ve never even heard of…I wasn’t sure if it was a compliment or not. lol My sister reminds me a lot of Sandra Bullock from Miss Congeniality. I think its her attitude…my sister can be feisty, but in a good way…oh, and she’s beautiful! (:

  • SandyLand

    Back when Titanic first came out I got a lot of comparisons to Kate Winslet – mostly because back then I was a redhead with big boobs. In recent years I’ve been compared to Ashley Simpson pre-nose job (we were both members of the “foot-long club”). Ah, to be a celebrity and afford a good nose job. A girl can dream.

  • Michelle

    No, but I could pass for Roseanne at this point.

  • donofalltrades

    Not really a famous person unless you’re a hockey fan I guess, but the Blues used to have a player named Brendan Shanahan on their team. On some game days in college, I’d wear a mock Shanahan jersey, or sweater for you hockey purists, to class. One morning I was coming into school from spending the night at my parents’ house and I stopped at a McDonald’s for an egg mcmuffin. I saw a couple of kids sort of ogling me and acting all shy, and finally, one of the boys comes over and asks me to sign a napkin for him. Being the good sport that I am, I obliged by signing my real name, donofalltrades, of course. He beamed and brought it back to his older brother who informed the little man that no, I must not be Brendan Shanahan. Mom came over and gave the the third degree about not playing along or crushing junior’s dreams or some such nonsense. Look lady, I’m hungover on my way to class eating an egg mcmuffin. Leave me be and explain to your stupid son that life is full of disappointments and I’m sure this won’t be his last. Lol.

  • Our Life In 3D

    I have been confused with Mel Gibson alot…mostly by nice people of other races…you know how we all look alike. and, yes, HE is much older too (sigh)

  • tlf

    I was mistaken for Paulina Porizkova once when I was in my early 20’s. We’re both Slovak…similar bone structure. Now? I look like a bag of potatoes, while she still looks amazing.

  • The Cutter

    I wouldn’t worry about the age thing. She probably had the image of those actresses 10 years ago in her mind.

  • sarah9188

    I got told I look like a young Molly Ringwold. Not sure about that, but I love her hair. You really should just have said, “Yeah, I get that all the time. Maybe Sandra and I are long lost twins” and see what happens. 🙂

  • Carmen

    recently I was told i look like Linda Hamilton. ARE YOU TRYING TO KILL ME? I may or may not have said that. Then I asked: Before or after Meth?

  • Hippie Cahier

    Did you snort when you laughed?

    (I adore Sandra Bullock and would take the comparison as a high compliment. Then again, I’m old.)

  • hiddinsight

    I fully empathize with this. It couldn’t have been good. I mean, gosh, their eyelashes are so…and their boobs are so…and their lips are so…

    Sigh. I’m usually compared to Meryl Streep. Occasionally these people will throw in “a young Meryl Streep” but not always. And she is a bajillionty years older than me. At least.

    And her wrinkles are so…

  • bluzdude

    Sure, they’re both older than you, but consider this… they have lots of money and the access to all the latest anti-aging techniques… scrubs, wraps, cleansers, surgery, and professional make-up artists. Even with all that, they still look like YOU. So take the compliment…

  • regnistegg999

    Many years ago Jane Fonda was in Waterbury Ct filming a movie w/Robert DiNero — Stanley and Iris. A friend took me to a Tea Room for my birthday lunch and a woman in the Tea Room approached me and said “Excuse me, Miss Fonda, May I have your autograph?” For a few moments she thought that I was Jane Fonda. I’m a Jane Fonda fan, so it was somewhat a thrill for those few moments. I’m glad that I don’t really look like Jane Fonda because she wasn’t loved in Waterbury. When people knew she was coming there was a lot of public outcry about having ‘Hanoi Jane’ in town. I would have stood up for her if I’d been accosted but I was glad I wasn’t.

  • UndercoverL

    Pee Wee Herman with a moustache? Wait! You or me?

  • Kitten Thunder's Girl

    I can see Sandra Bullock for you. She might be older than you, but she doesn’t LOOK like she’d in her 40s.

    Helen Hunt copied my hairstyle for most of the 1990’s. Every time a movie came out she had my hairstyle. Crazy stalker, that’s what she was.

    When I was set up with a blind date in college my friend told my future boyfriend “you know the princess in Conan the Barbarian? She looks just like that.” And darned if he didn’t pick me out of the crowd based on that – so it must have been true.

    Now I just look familiar to everyone, but no one knows why.

  • mistyslaws

    Not sure that “famous” is the right word. Possibly “infamous” would fit better. But when I was in college, I was told a couple of times that I looked like Amy Fisher.

    **crickets**

    The girl who shot Joey Buttifuco’s wife in the face? Yeah, her. She wasn’t particularly pretty, so I didn’t take it as a compliment, but we both were young girls with long dark hair and boobs, and men are easily confused. A few years later, both Alyssa Milano AND Drew Barrymore played her in made for TV movies, and I think they are both stunning and wonderful. So, I’ll take it. 😉

  • brickhousechick

    Great ladies to be mistaken for!

  • Daile

    When I had dark hair I was told I looked like Sarah Palin. Thank you – NOT A COMPLIMENT!

  • Kimberly Pugliano (@GisSilent)

    Jennifer Grey (Dirty Dancing) pre nose job. Fuck me.

  • bevchen

    Obviously she meant a YOUNG Sandra Bullock 😉

  • The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    I can see it! My sister says I remind her of Kirsten Dunst or Kate Hudson. I think it’s the eyes. But I’ll take it.

  • quickstepp

    Let’s see, I’ve heard Joss Stone and Christina Applegate (many times). It depends what color my hair is at the time. I have never seen either.

  • wade@avoiceformyson.com

    Years ago during the Sundance film festival in Park City someone approached me and asked me for my autograph. I was flattered and a little confused as I tried to tell them that I wasn’t a celebrity. Then I asked them who they thought I was. “oh, we thought you were Kevin Smith” yep.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

