Don’t Wait for the Perfect Moment. Take the Moment and Make It Perfect.

For the newbies, here’s the extremely short background to this post. I was with a guy for 4+ years, but he had commitment issues, so I left about 6 months ago. You can read about all that here.

A couple weeks after Kiefer and I broke up, we had this conversation:

Kiefer: I can’t believe how easy this seems for you.

Thoughtsy: It’s not easy. I didn’t just wake up one day and decide to leave. Every day you didn’t propose was a day you pushed me away. Part of me hopes one day you’ll show up on my doorstep with a ring, and everything will be ok.

Kiefer: So in a few weeks, not if, but when I show up on your doorstep with a ring….

Thoughtsy: You can’t say that. I’ll just think you’re proposing out of desperation. You have to wait. Aaaaaand…just to make sure I believe you, you should probably have a ring in one hand and plane tickets to Vegas in the other.

A few months later…

Blarney: Kiefer wanted to talk to me…about you. He knows he messed up. I believe him.

A little over a month ago, Kiefer called me to ask if we could meet. He said it couldn’t wait.

Kiefer: I love you. I love your wit. I love how caring you are.

::Insert other awesomeness about me and lots of memories that Kiefer and I share plus some of his thoughts about our future. Ten minutes or so later…::

I took tomorrow afternoon off so we can go to the Justice of the Peace, and I have tickets to Vegas for next weekend if you want to do that. We could have a wedding for friends and family later…maybe around Halloween since that’s our holiday. I’m sorry I waited so long….

Will you marry me?

::pause::

Kiefer: Ozzy Puppy! Leave it! Don’t eat the ring!

Favorite Comment From Last Post: “I am NEVER letting my boyfriend get an iPad. He spends way too much time in the toilet as it is….”—Bevchen

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

66 responses to “Don’t Wait for the Perfect Moment. Take the Moment and Make It Perfect.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

