As You Wish

Haaaaaave you met Misty? Meeting and friending her should be your #1 priority. Why? Because whenever I see her, she gives me something. Usually vodka or Pop-Tarts.

I have a confession to make. While I consider myself pretty well read…having a degree in English Lit, another degree in Law, and making a consistent attempt to read at least a few books a month (that I try to fit in around my busy TV watching work and child rearing schedule), there is one book that I shamefully have never read. And that book is…The Princess Bride.

But then again, who needs books when you have movies? And in fact, The Princess Bride movie is one of the funniest, most irreverent, clever and iconic movies that I have ever seen. And Thoughtsy’s Movies Teach Us is all about movies, so I guess the fact that I’ve seen this movie more than a few hundred dozen times, is a good start on this post, yes? Who needs books anyway?

There are many life lessons contained in this epic movie. From the very beginning, if you were a child of the 80’s like me, the very sounds of the dated Atari-like baseball video game brings you back to a more innocent and childlike period in your life. A time when, like the young boy in the film, you were home sick from school and your grandfather came to read you a book to pass the time. Where you happily shut down your video game and accepted your doting grandpa’s playful cheek pinch, and settled in for an afternoon of literary entertainment. I mean, that happened to you all the time when you were young, right? Ok, fine… it didn’t happen here either. Whilst there is the whole sick kid/grandpa reading thing, as most young boys would be, this one is similarly unenthused about his grandpa’s visit. But things change soon after the opening pages of the novel, which the boy promises to “try to stay awake” for.

RIP Peter Falk.

Much like the character Fred Savage plays in this movie, I too learned quite a lot from this movie. One of the most important lessons I learned was that after all these years, I still can pretty much quote it verbatim. So, even though I might not remember what I ate for lunch yesterday, it’s good to know that arcane 80’s movie dialogue is still firmly implanted in the ole recesses of my noggin’. Score!

Lessons From The Princess Bride

  • ROUS’s definitely exist, and you should NOT expect Buttercup to help save you from them.
  • The Dread Pirate Roberts does not take prisoners . . . except for those times where he does.
  • Death cannot stop true love.
  • “No more rhymes now, I mean it! (Anybody want a peanut?)”
  • “You keep using that word . . . I do not think it means what you think it means.”
  • “I am not left handed.”
  • People in masks cannot be trusted.
  • Masks are terribly comfortable and everyone will be wearing them in the future.
  • “You put down your rock and I put down my sword and we try to kill each other like civilized people.”

Inconceivable!

  • Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line.
  • Life IS pain. Anyone who says differently is selling something.
  • Lies do not become men of action.
  • Always be honest if it is for posterity.
  • If you are seven feet tall and yell at everyone to move, they will part like the Red Sea.
  • Fezzik jogs memories too hard.
  • Bringing up a painful subject is like giving a paper cut and pouring lemon juice on it.
  • People can be only mostly dead, which is slightly alive.
  • True love is the greatest thing in the world . . . except for a nice MLT. Mutton, lettuce & tomato, where the mutton is nice and lean and the tomatoes are ripe.
  •  Mawedge. Mawedge is what bwings us togevah today.
  • “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”
  • There is a worse fate than “to the death.”

    Drop. Your. Sword.

  • Fred Savage doesn’t mind the kissing parts so much.

And finally . . .

  • “As you wish” means “I love you.”
About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

53 responses to “As You Wish

  • Go Jules Go

    That reminds me, I really need to get a head start on mask shopping, before all the good ones are gone.

    God I love this movie. Fantastic ‘Movies Teach Us’ guest post, Ninja Snaps!

  • When in New Places

    Bless this movie, my favorite as well, and the countless laughs the whole “Mauwage” bit gets even to this day. It’s right up there with “Hey youuuuuuu guysssss!” from The Goonies. GOLDEN!

  • As You Wish: A Movies Teach Us Guest Post | Misty's Laws

    […] Head on over to Thoughtsy’s joint to read the post there.  […]

  • kcharbneau

    I’m pushing forty and still love watching this with my little girls 🙂

    • mistyslaws

      I’m pushing 40, too!! Solidarity, old chics. ((fish bump))

      I can’t wait to watch this with my boys. They are still a little young for it, but it should be a wonderful bonding experience.

  • mistyslaws

    Thoughtsy!! Thanks so much for having me over. I promise not to eat all of your pop tarts or drink all of your vodka. Maybe.

    This was a great excuse to watch this wonderful movie again. And really . . . you saved the best for last, right? 😉

  • aliceatwonderland

    LOVE this movie and have watched it a billion times, I think. Can pretty much quote it too. Had a major crush on Carey Elwes (oh, my sweet Wesley!) God he was hot. And funny.

    Inigo: I would offer to help you, but you might not trust me seeing as how I’m only waiting up here to kill you.”
    Wesley: That does put a damper on our relationship.

    • mistyslaws

      That entire exchange between Wesley and Inigo on the rocks is some of the best and most hysterical ever.

      Seriously, I had a super difficult time not making this entire post solely a list of the amazing lines of dialogue from this movie!!

  • billscott17blog

    Cool, iconic movie. Great, fun post. What about, “Have fun stormin’ the castle!” That was from this movie too. Right? Cheers!!

  • bevchen

    My step mum’s grave has a (slightly altered) quote from the Princess Bride on it: “Death doesn’t stop true love. It just delays it for a while”.

    The book is also excellent, by the way. But the film is a true classic.

    • mistyslaws

      I love so much that your Step mom’s grave has that written on it! So fab.

      I really do need to read to book at some point. I keep saying I will, but never seem to get around to it. One day . . .

  • rachelocal

    Nice pick, Misty! Can’t get enough of the Princess Bride. My favorite part is when the weird albino that’s cleaning Westley’s wound says talks in a raspy and scary voice and then clears his throat. (We used to say that the albino looked like my aunt. So mean.)

  • bluzdude

    I wonder how many weddings started out with that “Mawage” quote…

  • She's a Maineiac

    Oh, lord! One of THE best movies. I know every line by heart, too. Mawedge….that part still kills me. I often quote this line whenever my husband goes off to work: “Have fun stormin’ the castle!” Great post, Misty.

    • mistyslaws

      Thanks, Darlinsky! That is high praise coming from you, my dear.

      I was pleasantly surprised at all the times I giggled at this film, even after all these years and all the times I’ve seen it. I mean, really, I could do a dramatic reenactment right now, probably. Maybe we should hold a bloggy convention and all put this on as a play! Speaking of which, how is this not on Broadway yet?

  • PinotNinja

    Spectacular choice — that is one of the few movies that I know I will be able to watch and love for my entire life.

    When we were younger, my brothers and I used “Prince Humperdrink” as one of the highest insults we had. If one of us called the other a Humperdinck, that meant the fists were about to start flying.

    • mistyslaws

      I totally agree. This is such a classic.

      Oh no!! You didn’t Humperdinck each other! Now I just keep thinking about Carol Kane chasing Billy Crystal around chanting “Humperdinck, HumperDI-INCK, HumperdinckHumperdinckHumperdinck.” 🙂

  • sarah9188

    Misty, you just made my entire day with this blog post. You are well acquainted with my deep and abiding love for this movie. I’d like to add that Buttercup is basically useless in any situation in this movie, but she is so good at insults that I put up with her nonetheless. “You can die slowly, cut up into a thousand pieces.” That and Westley’s “I leave you in anguish, wallowing in freakish misery forever” are both insults I’d like to use in real life. Lol. Your list is pure gold, girl.

    As you wish, Misty, as you wish.

    • mistyslaws

      It’s funny, when I picked this movie, I totally thought of you. I was going to mention this was coming, but wanted it to be a surprise. Figured you would approve my choice. 🙂

      And yes, Buttercup pisses me off multiple times in this movie. Stupid woman!

      • sarah9188

        I have a Princess Bride addiction; this is true. 🙂 I try to keep calm with her since I adore Westley and he obviously loves her for some reason or another. But, seriously, girl, can you be any more helpless?

        End rant.

  • Fresh Ginger

    “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” — useful in so many situations. I try to insert that phrase into my regular life as often as possible. Go ahead, try it. It makes all conversations so much more interesting. 🙂

  • pegoleg

    I’m ashamed to admit that, while I’ve seen this many times, I do NOT have it memorized. Inconceivable!

    Thoughtsy did save the best for last. Hmmmph.

  • Guilty Pleasures: Flashback Fun | Jess Witkins' Happiness Project

    […] and Misty’s Law blogged about The Princess Bride in As You Wish. […]

  • Jess Witkins

    Oh so many good lines. And I’m glad you had rules learned by rodents of unusual size. We must all be warned.

  • chemgirljaime (@chemgirljaime)

    love that movie…. and if you *can’t* quote it verbatim then we can’t be friends.

  • hiddinsight

    I think its time for a 3-D remake of Princess Bride. We should all get together and take character roles. I’ll be the I’m-not-a-witch-I’m-your-wife lady.

    • mistyslaws

      Oh man. But I look just LIKE her! Can I at least be the scary Albino? There is definitely a close resemblance there as well. 😉

      • hiddinsight

        Your confidence in my ability to cast the crew is *inconceivably* flattering (scribbles notes in short-hand on notepad and pretends not to be too shocked)…

        Yes, I accept the role of Director then…you’ve forced me into it. I will even do it for free. And a glass of wine. Every hour. And of course you can be the Albino. But not because you look like him (her?), just because you’re the only person who wants to be in my re-make, so you totally get dibs.

        I guess if no one else is interested…that leaves the rest of the roles for chipmunks, french fries, and strange mist.

        Last call. Anyone?

  • The Byronic Man

    I say the “Life is pain…” line more often than I probably should. It’s just so great.

    Also, the “You keep using that word…” line.

    Also, all the other lines in the movie.

    • mistyslaws

      Inconceivable is a constant favorite of mine. And yes, I find that many of them pop up in daily conversation as well.

      “I am NOT left handed.”
      “Give him a break. He’s been mostly dead all day.”
      “Do you want me to send you back where you were . . . Unemployed, in GREENLAND?”

      I really could do this all day.

  • Vesta Vayne

    Oooooh yes. I’ve watched it dozens of times – Princess Bride never gets old.

  • Laura

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wanted to say “My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” and then stopped because my name actually isn’t Inigo Montoya. Maybe I should change my name.

  • The Cotton Floozy

    Man, I love that movie. And book. And you. And Cary Elwes before he turned all old and puffy.

  • Peter Licari

    I’m right with you. I saw the movie in high school but never read the book (yet). However, I love all of the iconic bits about it. Especially the “I do not think it means what you think it means” bit. I catch myself telling that to people often.

    And I can attest to the Sicilian comment. We can be a bit feisty.

  • itsjustjaco

    Oh my gosh such a great blog………..

  • Combining Laughter And Learning | theinnerwildkat

    […] a post called “Guilty Pleasures: Flashback Fun” inspired by Thoughts Appear’s  Movies Teach Us posts.  In it, she discussed the lessons that can be learned from watching the funnier movies. […]

  • cestlavie22

    I absolutely love this post! Fezzick is by far my favorite character in the movie and you are right he can part anyone like the red sea just by his enormous size. “As you wish means ‘I love you'” LOVE that you posted that! Such an amazing way to end the post. I think i need to go re-watch this movie!

  • Things You Realize After You Get Married

    I just watched this movie the other day and love it! I haven’t read the book either….actually I didn’t realize it was based on a book until reading this post. But my favourite part from this movie is whenever the main character (Cary Elwes?) says, “As you wish”…. So dreamy! (Yes, I used to have a crush on him.)

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

