What I Lost During Hurricane Sandy

Hurricane Sandy knocked down a few trees and knocked out our power a couple times, but she didn’t cause any major damage.

But something else was already damaged.

After Hurricane Sandy…

Thoughtsy to Doctor: So my period is different…I think something is wrong.

Doctor: Your pregnancy test came back positive. So…it’s not a period…you’re having an early miscarriage.

Since this miscarriage was so early, I didn’t even realize I was pregnant. Because I was losing something I didn’t even know I had, I thought that would make it easier.

And it was easier. For the first 15 seconds.

Then it got harder. What’s wrong with me? Why can’t my body keep a baby that I want so badly? What if I can’t ever carry a baby to full-term?

To make matters worse, just hours after I found out I was miscarrying, Kiefer, Boo, Radley, and I hopped on a plane to the Florida Keys for vacation.

And as much as I tried to hide it, for the next few days on and off, I cried. I was moody. I was crampy. My back hurt, and I was exhausted.

Boo: Dad, is Thoughtsy ok?

Kiefer: She’s not feeling well.

What a perceptive kid. I hope I have one just like him someday.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

47 responses to “What I Lost During Hurricane Sandy

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

