My Chip Bag Brings All the Pets to Yard

Did you know cats have better hearing than dogs?

My old cat Caramel would running any time the refrigerator door opened. Esme runs to the sound of a can opening.

You: Big deal. My cat does that, too.

Me: No, you don’t understand. Esme. Doesn’t. Run. Ever.

Esme is pretty lazy. Unless food is involved. And Esme isn’t very affectionate. Unless food is involved.

And even more than a can opening, Esme loves a chip bag crinkling.

Poor Kiefer. When he sat down with a chip bag in his lap to watch football, he had no idea what he was getting into.

“The animals love me best!”

Esme: You’re in my chair, and you have chips. Gimme. Now.

Ozzy: The cat wants some, so it must be good.

He had no idea that archenemies would unite to double team him…just for a chip.

Favorite Comment From Last Post: “I brought my nephew to a haunted house once, he was about 6, I was 21 and stupid and I got in trouble at the age of 21 because I think I might have ran out the door and kind of left him in the dust, yeah, I got in big ass trouble. Dumb kid, he was suppose to run like hell with me, dah?”—Lucy’s Reality

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

17 responses to “My Chip Bag Brings All the Pets to Yard

  • Nikitaland

    I know for sure that Nikita has super sonic hearing too, because when I crinkle up the smallest square sticky note, she comes running. She loves paper and can hear that silly small piece of paper anywhere in the house!

  • Angelia Sims

    I can totally see it. “You distract Ozzy, and I’ll do the grab. We spilt the profits. Got it?”

    Good plan. I bet Kiefer doesn’t laugh for long. Lol!

  • mistyslaws

    Ha! Keifer looks great. πŸ™‚

    I love how dogs just put their entire head in your lap when they want something you have. It’s the like front half of their bodies are just planted as close to the food item as possible, while still not technically being IN the lap.

  • Brittany

    Ohh my gosh my older cat never runs either, unless he is being chased/traumatized by my younger cat (my little black man.) Food/treats get him to run too. I shake that can of treats and it’s like he is training for a marathon..Run fat beast..RUN!

  • Carrie - Cannibalistic Nerd

    The chip bag phenomena was proof that our previous dog was NOT losing her hearing, just becoming less concerned with what we thought of her as she got older. We’d call to her and nothing, but man, you open a bag of tortilla chips and there she was, appearing from out of nowhere.

  • suzicate

    Love they’ll work together to steal his food!

  • Laura

    My cat does the same thing — but he’s after the bag itself, not the chips. If I want any kind of peace at all, I have to put that kind of snack into a bowl. Life is tough when you live with a plastic-chewer.

  • Choc Chip Uru

    The things that bring arch enemies together – earthquakes, disasters and a bag of chips πŸ˜‰

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  • Lucy

    Oh, my gosh, I love the photo with Kiefer cropped in, it just cracks me up! Oh, and yeah, animals and the way they beg, our one dog barks at you the entire time you eat popcorn which can kind of ruin the movie, you know, because you are always watching a movie while chowing popcorn,so I think the dog knows this and it gets a ton of popcorn so we can hear,guess the dog is pretty smart, now that I think about it.

  • cooper

    Bet Keifer’s Dad, Donald, could thoroughly frighten the pets just by reciting those awful orange juice ads he does….

  • Vesta Vayne

    Aw, dog and cat uniting over the important things in life, like chips. Brings a tear to the eye, doesn’t it?

  • She's a Maineiac

    Strange…my husband comes running when he hears a chip bag open, too.

  • ryoko861

    Tigger doesn’t eat scraps or table food or any “human” food. But will promptly jump up on the table when my son and I have lunch and proceed to laydown with his tail flopping in our food. Why? I have NO idea. Cats are weird.

  • Betty

    Everything about that picture is hysterical! Phoebe has selective hearing. She could be ten feet away and not hear my call. But if a ziplock bag opens 100 yards away, she’ll come running.

  • leashieloo

    LOL @ Esme. My cat likes chips too, what weirdos! (Actually, not really. Chips are delicious).

  • kickerkim

    So I’m NOT the only thirty something in the world stuck between adolescent silliness and the adult world! I’m new to this whole blog thing, feel free to drop me a few pointers on lessons you learned and how you managed to draw in traffic if you are so inclined!
    Can I put a link to my blog here or is that a blogosphere faux pas? https://missmoiety.wordpress.com
    (I did it anyway cause only properly grown up adults care about faux pas- what’s the plural there – faux pas? Yes, that will do nicely….

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

