Will It Hurt?

Last week I went to the dermatologist for two beauty spots on my back. And by “beauty spots,” I mean “moles,” but “beauty spots”makes me feel like Cindy Crawford, so just go with it.

Doctor: This one is probably ok, but the other one is questionable. Better safe than sorry, so I’ll just remove both of them. Sit here.

Thoughtsy: Wait…right now? You’re going to take them off right now?

Doctor: Yes.

Thoughtsy: Will it hurt?

Doctors never tell you it will hurt. They’ll tell you it’ll sting or it’ll pinch. Synonyms for hurt. Boom! English-majored!

Doctor: I’ll numb it, so you won’t feel anything. Just two pricks.

Thoughtsy: (::under breath::) I’ll show you a prick.

A few mostly pain-free minutes later, I was “beauty spotless.”

The next day I asked Kiefer to take off the band-aids because I didn’t want to see the possibly huge gaping holes aftermath. 

Kiefer: I’m going to take off the band-aids now.

Thoughtsy: Right now?

Kiefer: Yes.

Thoughtsy: Will it hurt?

I ask those two questions at least once a day.

Thoughtsy: Just so you know, I prefer the slow peeling of band-aids. Don’t rip it off.

Kiefer: (::RIP!::)

Thoughtsy: SON OF A…! I hate you.

Favorite Comment From Last Post: “Tried the bra bit. Mostly it just made me feel like I need new deodorant and maybe a boob job.”—Tori Nelson

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

45 responses to “Will It Hurt?

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

