This Is Why I Blog

The other day I read a new blog. It was funny, so I left a comment. When I returned the next day, I saw this.

Here my initial thoughts when I read that post.

  • Oooo…it says “stalkers” in the title. Stalkers are fun. They’re like ninjas.
  • Oooo…she met a celebrity. I hope it was someone hot.
  • Oooo…it was Thoughtsy of Thoughts Appear. I hear she’s hot.
  • Waaaait…what? That’s me!

Miss Four Eyes dedicated a post to mwah. Although she’s only recently started her own blog, she’s been reading my blog for awhile.

Here’s part of her post that may or may not have brought tears to my eyes. I’m breaking it up into bullets, so I can add in my commentary.

  • You taught me exactly what the appropriate chocolate to fruit ratio is. Thank goodness somebody got this! I’m still beating Ddot over the head with this one.
  • You showed me that even though you might meet really sucky guys there are always good ones waiting for you somewhere. I truly believe the good guys outnumber the bad ones.
  • You taught me not to settle for something if I’m not okay with it.
  • I should go for what I want in life. Especially if what you want is dessert.
  • You’ve shown me that learning is a constant process, and that it never really stops. You taught me that the most obvious things in life might be the funniest ones. I laugh at everything. Especially myself.  Except when I trip and fall. That’s not funny.

Miss Four Eyes said, “You are the reason I started blogging.”

Well, Miss Four Eyes, I’m looking forward to learning about you through your blog. And today I’m blog crushing on you. Because you are the reason I started blogging.

  • I blog because I want to bring a little laughter to someone who’s having a bad day.
  • I blog because when I’m having a bad day I want someone to tell me tomorrow will be better.
  • I blog because somewhere someone is going through the same thing as me. Readers, you’re not alone.
  • I blog to give my thoughts a voice.
  • I blog because that’s the only way I can justify eating as much dessert as I do.

Why do you blog?

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

30 responses to “This Is Why I Blog

  • gojulesgo

    Wow that is SO TOTALLY AWESOME! That trumps just about any other kind of recognition, I’d say! Maybe it even trumps Pop Tarts?! To think she was out there admiring your writing all this time, and ya didn’t even know it!

    I thought I started a blog to as a platform for my writing, but more and more it becomes about connecting with other writers, and finding joy in simple things (i.e., blog fodder!)! 🙂

  • John Phillips

    You should start a blog ministry hehe. Very cool. I blog because my head is full of stuff and it needs to vent, oh and the people that I read and comment on is probably the best reason.

  • Crazy Tragic Almost Magic

    What an honor! How sweet that she took the time to say all those great things. I started blogging to take up time, it’s turned into something I truly enjoy and can’t fathom giving up.

  • Trinity River

    How wonderful. You inspired someone to blog. You go girl! 🙂

  • Classic

    That’s freaking awesome, Thoughtsy!! Can’t say I’m that shocked, though, you are incredibly lovable 😀

  • mistyslaws

    That is so sweet! You have a stalker and you are her idol. Awww.

    We already discussed this, but I’ll put it on here as well. I started my blog because of you as well. You and Hoody made it seem so easy. That still sounds bad . . . what I mean is, when I read your blogs about the crazy stuff you saw or did or just your daily life and thoughts and activities, I was moved to do it myself. I figured if that was what blogging was, I could do something like that. I never thought I would be as famous or talented as The great Bloggess or Oh Noa, and frankly they intimidated the hell out of me. But you 2 seemed like real people who were just writing about your lives. And I liked the thought of being able to do something like that.

    Hey, did you know that you were the first person to comment on my blog? For that I will always be grateful. And now we are friends. Look at that! This blogging thing is pretty rad.

    I blog to get stuff out of my head, to talk about and show some of the crazy stuff I deal with in my job and (now) to meet all of you fantastic people! It is a great outlet for me, and I love everything that I have experienced about it, especially all the other bloggers I’ve “met” and met.

  • ryoko861

    That was so sweet! What an honor! It’s always a great feeling when you can have such a profound effect on someone. You do have a very uplifting blog! I look forward to your posts! You don’t take life too seriously and you have to be able to laugh at yourself. Well, I know I have to. No one else does.

  • girlinafoodfrenzy

    There’s always going o be more room for dessert in my blog, lol 🙂 it’s truly awesome that there’s great people out there, it’s eat to forget sometimes!!!

  • Carl D'Agostino

    Why blog? Give free smiles. Maybe attract a publisher as a lot of pro writers and artists subscribe. If not meet wonderful people.

  • monicastangledweb

    How does it feel being a mentor? Well, if you ask me, she couldn’t have picked a better one. Your blog is such fun!

  • marinasleeps

    This was so awesome!!
    Dreams really come true!!

  • MissFourEyes

    Oh gosh! This is so sweet!
    I figured I’d finally crossed the line from weird to inappropriately weird, but I’m so glad you liked it!!
    You will forever remain my celebrity! If I ever see you on the street, I’m totally going in for a hug! Feel free to get a restraining order against me.
    You’ve made my day Miss. Thoughtsy 🙂

  • Christina

    That is like the coolest thing ever.

  • Marianne

    You completely captured this. How many pop-tarts did you celebrate with?

  • cooper

    I blog, therefore I am….

  • Brittany

    Aaaaaww this is great! I blog because it brings me joy, it allows me to share my food obsession and corny jokes with strangers.

  • pegoleg

    Because nobody listens to me in real life.

    Congrats on the bloggy stalker – all you need is a restraining order and you’ll have REALLY arrived!

  • lindamedrano

    That is really so cool! And I too have learned things from you, even things I didn’t want to know. (Kidding! You know I love you!)

  • Choc Chip Uru

    You’re an inspiration to us all with your hilarious posts and awesome blogging style! I love that you have been so honoured by such a sweet blogger 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  • skippingstones

    I started blogging because I thought it might be fun. I found out that it was harder than it looks and way more time consuming. I continued blogging because of all the wonderful friends I’ve made.

    Also, it’s kind of like a drug or something that gets in you’re blood – blog writer’s withdrawal is the worst.

  • Somersaulting Through Life

    I think your blog is awesome too, Thoughtsy! Please could you send me an autographed copy of your blog so I can pin it on my wall? 😀

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    I feel a little ridiculous confessing this, but I actually got misty at your concluding bullets.

    I started blogging as part of a scheme to have an “authorial presence” online, but it’s morphed into my therapy. While I frequently dream of giving up Facebook, I never, ever dream of giving up blogging!

  • Queen Gen

    That’s fantastic! I hope one day I’m as inspirational as you, Thoughtsy. I think I blog because I like the sound of my own stories. I like to think that other people might like them too.

  • tracyairhart1976

    I blog to get out my thoughts and feelings. I blog through WordPress and through Blogspot. I started to blog because my life became public and in the spotlight by my former employer who has harrassed me since 2009. I blog every morning and every night. My blogs are a diary of my life. I could not give up blogging because I have readers from all over the world who like to read my blogs.

  • cestlavie22

    I blog because I think it is important and fun to share my thoughts albeit crazy at times with people who also have crazy thoughts to share!

  • bevchen

    I just went and read her post. What an awesome tribute to you!

    I blog because if I don’t get my thoughts out of my head occasionally my brain may just explode! And I also blog about what I’ve been doing so when I start thinking my life is going nowhere I can read back and say “look at all the awesome things you’ve been doing! See, you’re life is great. Now shut up moaning!” 😉

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

