Beignets Are Funnel Cakes in Disguise

I went to New Orleans for the beads food.

Initially, I was worried. My picky and sensitive palate might not be able to handle all that Cajunness. I mean, I only recently worked my way up to the Medium salsa.

What if everything was too spicy? What if I had to resort to eating only desserts the entire trip? That would be awful! Waaaaaait…who am I kidding? That would be awesome!

Blarney and I walked to the nearest Sucré in the Garden District.

Confetti "Crack" Cupcake and Coconut "Crack" Chocolate Gelato

It’s not a coincidence that these flavors begin with “C” like “crack.”

Don't be fooled. Green slime on key lime pie is delicious.

Next up…Cafe Du Monde‘s beignets.

Blarney and I were disappointed. They were tasty, but we learned something very important. Just because something is called a doughnut doesn’t mean jelly or custard or something equally tasty is in the middle.

 Beignets = Funnel Cake

I also ate Pralines, Chocolate-Covered Marshmallow Sticks, Baked Alaska, and Triple Chocolate Cake. I’m sorry I don’t have photographic proof, but here’s why:

Thoughtsy: I’ll take one Baked Alaska. Extra chocolate sauce, please.

Guy: Here you go, Baby Doll. (Yes, they actually called me that. And I liked it.)

Thoughtsy: (::taking a bite::) Mmmmmm…. Oh. I should take a picture. (::shrugs and continues eating::) 

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

29 responses to “Beignets Are Funnel Cakes in Disguise

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

