It’s the Most Wonderful Time of Year…To Be in the Kitchen

The last week and half I’ve been spending a lot of time in the kitchen barefoot and pregnant.

That’s a lie. I’m not pregnant. And it’s too cold to go barefoot, so I’m wearing socks.

That only leaves spending a lot of time in the kitchen. Which is true.

I’ve also been brushing up on my artistic skills. Artists generally start with simple things like painting a bowl of fruit. Here’s my version:

My lunch. Seriously. Ok, ok, I had 2 cookies.

What? Apple. Banana. Orange Creamsicle Cookie. The orange extract makes that cookie a fruit. That’s my 3 fruit servings for the day in one meal.

I wish I could send all of you some of the yummy cookies I’ve made, but let’s face it: That’s too many stamps. So I’m posting the recipes so you can make your own cookies (and get at least one fruit serving in your day).

Orange Creamsicle Cookies*

  • 1 pouch of sugar cookie mix
  • 4 tbsp melted butter
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 tsp orange extract
  • 1 egg
  • white chocolate chips
  • 5 drops of yellow food coloring, 2 drops of red food coloring

Mix everything together (chips last), roll into balls, and bake 9-10 minutes at 350.

Smores Cookie Bars*

  • 1 pouch of sugar cookie mix
  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 cup melted butter
  • 3 cups chocolate chips
  • 1 bag of miniature marshmallows

Mix the cookie mix, butter, and graham crackers. Press it into a 13×9 pan. Bake 18-20 minutes at 375.

Remove from oven. Pour chocolate chips over the crust. In a few minutes, they’ll melt. Spread the chocolate evenly over the crust.

Pour the marshmallows over the chocolate. Set the oven to Broil and place in the oven for about 30 seconds. Watch it so your mallows don’t burn.

I also tested a new blueberry muffin recipe for #13 on my 35 Before 35 list, but they were only ok, so I’m not posting it.

Be on the lookout for a new cookie recipe that I got from Princess’s sister. They may be the best cookies ever. Stay tuned.

And contrary to popular opinion, I do eat things that don’t have sugar in them. I also baked Kim’s macaroni and cheese this weekend. Mmmm….

*The use of crack is optional in both of these recipes. They’re really tasty without it.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

39 responses to “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of Year…To Be in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

