Going for What You Want Means Losing Something Else

I’m a huge fan of Emily Giffin’s books. Huge. I-should-be-president-of-her-fan-club kind of huge.

Somehow I missed the Something Borrowed movie when it opened (I was busy re-enacting Mortal Kombat with Esme), but I finally watched it.

Here’s what I learned from the movie:

  • It’s never too late.
  • Grinding a guy’s leg while dancing will cause you to pull a muscle near your vagina.
  • You’ll never get what you want unless you ask for it.
  • If a girl is too clingy, don’t tell her you’re gay. She’ll just want you more.
  • New York City is completely empty 4th of July weekend…except for your parents.
  • You didn’t waste your 20s, you grew up.

This movie didn’t get the best reviews, but I enjoyed it. Rachel, who is essentially the girl next door, ends up sleeping with her best friend’s (Darcy’s) fiance (Dex).

So the audience is in a difficult position: 

  • Rachel is the “good girl.” So why is she sleeping with her friend’s fiance?
  • Darcy isn’t a very likeable character, but they still feel some sympathy for her…until they find out she kinda stole Dex from Rachel and that Darcy’s been cheating on Dex as well.

But good people sometimes do bad things. Sometimes people make mistakes.

And in the next book, Darcy becomes less bitchy, and everything works out for her.

Did you read the book or see the movie? What did you think?

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

30 responses to “Going for What You Want Means Losing Something Else

  • pearlsandprose

    Missed them both. But I think a Youtube video of you re-enacting Mortal Kombat with Esme is in order. 🙂

  • LittleMissVix

    I wanted to see the film but then I heard bad things. Maybe I do need to check it out! Might see if it’s cheap on Amazon 🙂

  • Angelia Sims

    I haven’t, but sounds like something I would love. 🙂

  • Tori Nelson

    I haven’t read the books, but I’m tempted to now! Also, I’d kind of like to have twins so I can name them Darcy and Dex 🙂

  • mistyslaws

    Yep, read all of her books. I’m normally not a girly book fan, but I enjoy hers. I really liked the first 2 with Darcy. I did not find her a sympathetic character, and there were some definite grey areas as to morality all throughout that book. That is what I like about her novels, there seems to be all shades in her people. Not just an obvious heroine that does no wrong. I only found 1 of her books a bit contrived, I think it was called Baby Proof? I’m bad with remembering titles, so it could have been an entirely different book. I liked the most recent one I read of hers, the one with the 2 women, one with the young boy who gets hurt at the beginning and the other married to the doctor who treats him. I cannot remember the name of the book, of course. Have you read that yet? I thought it was good. Full of real life difficult choices and many many grey areas. I like that her people have multiple dimensions and while you might not necessarily like a character, you might understand their situation or predicament and still feel for them or think them somewhat sympathetic. Anyway, I heard the movie wasn’t great, but I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  • Linda Medrano

    I didn’t see the movie. I had a girlfriend named Gail. Gail had multiple boyfriends including one named Ted. She said that she and Ted were (in cruder terms) “friends with benefits”. She and I were friendly but not close. Ted asked me out. I went. Gail flipped. Never mind that she had Joe, Ron, and Steve and Danny that she was dating too. I stopped being friends with Gail, and I stopped going out with Ted.

    But none of this would make a good screenplay.

  • Nikki B

    Oh, Thoughtsy. Didn’t see the movie, could’ve on a plane – but couldn’t bring myself to do it.

    Honesty: I really kinda wanna vomit all over rom-coms and the like (not sure if that includes the book). Also really wasn’t into the whole good-girl-hooks-up-with-bff-fiance-but-it’s-ok-cuz-bff-is-a-bitch-and-stole-boy-anyway. Also the good-girl-was-all-nerdy-and-now-she’s-hotter-so… stuff either.

    Just not into the Hollywood interpretation of relationships – in terms of happily-ever-after, in terms of drama-begets-romantic-pay-off, and in terms of oh-these-things-are-ok-if bullcrap.

    Meh. Just my thoughts… ?

    • thoughtsappear

      This movie didn’t play the nerdy-now-hot girl angle. It was more about a girl stopping being a doormat to her friend.

      I definitely don’t think the cheating was ok. That’s what makes the story difficult. You want them to be together, but you want them to do it the right way.

  • Paula @ thewilyweez

    I’ve never heard of the author, what else has she written?

  • Kimberly Pugliano

    I was unsatisfied. Thought the book was WAY better. I’ve read ’em all!!!!

  • belleofthecarnival

    I loved the book and hated the movie!

  • Kara E

    I looooove Emily’s books and found the Something Borrowed flick to be rather “meh.” It was just missing something, though I’m not too sure what it was. I’m a firm believer that the book is always better than the movie. The only book/movie combo that I equally loved was Marley & Me, and they made me bawl my eyes out!

  • lisapollard965

    Love Griffin’s books, especially Something Borrowed and Something Blue. I didn’t realize there was a movie out for Something Borrowed. Though I have to agree with Kara E. Books are always better than the book.

    Lisa

  • Kitten Thunder's Girl

    I was supposed to go see it with my fluffy movie watching friend but at the last minute she decided she wanted to see The Help which is a crime against literature and the person who adapted the screenplay belongs in jail.

  • Tom Baker

    Good people do do bad things and vice versa. I like to learn something new everyday or I feel like I’ve missed something. Thanks for the vaginal information. What guy would know that?

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    I let the movie play as background noise about a month back. I tried to watch more closely, but that was about what I could manage. Both times. Background noise has its merits, though! :p

  • Angela Noelle

    I liked those books a lot, but never saw the movie. It’s somewhere on my infinite Netflix queue, so at the rate I’ve been going, I’ll probably watch it some time in 2018.

  • mairzeebp

    I love her books and I actually really liked this movie. It helped that the lead guy was a fox. God he was so good looking that I felt myself blushing in my seat. Do you think he’s single? Do you think that he’s as nice as the part he played? If not, could I pay him to be that guy? I have eighty seven dollars, a gift card to Macy’s and a huge bag of Jelly Belly’s. It’s a lock.

  • mescribe

    Haven’t seen, haven’t read. Want to see, want to read! 🙂

  • mychaoticbubble

    I haven’t read the book but I loved the movie, and the vagina thing was hilarious because I went to see the movie with a friend who had just told me this oh so funny story about her 2.5 yr old son was watching her when she went to the toilet and told her that her weewee was broken lol.

    Plus I love Ginnifer Goodwin she is just adorable!! And Kate Hudson hasn’t been doing much right for me the last few years lol

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

