Skate the East: Broadway Bomb

You know what I love about New York? There’s always something going on. I went up to see The Addams Family and have some girly time, and as an added bonus, I got to see Broadway Bomb.

First, I saw this…

That seems unsafe....

Then I saw this…

There's more!

Then I saw an old guy take his life into his own hands….

Look both ways before crossing the street!

Then I saw this…

What’s in the old guy’s bag?

Then I thought, Oh my god…what do the skateboarders know that I don’t? I should start running. Maybe the Statue of Liberty is about to fall on me, and I’m just standing here snapping pics.

But nothing bad happened.

Over 1,000 skateboarders skated down Broadway on October 8. Now I wanna do it. Who knows how to skateboard?

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

22 responses to “Skate the East: Broadway Bomb

  • mistyslaws

    Damn, I wish I had seen that. That seems awesome. I used to love watching the X-games when they came on and marvel at all the incredible tricks those punks could do. By the way, what with the popularity of extreme sports now, those “punk kids” could buy and sell me triple times. Still think it’s pretty cool. Why don’t they ever do cool stuff like that around here?

    Oh, and glad the statue of liberty wasn’t falling on you. Besides, one day I will actually get my hubs to take me to New York and I would like to see it. Not like I ever got to see the twin towers in person. 😦

    • thoughtsappear

      It was really cool to just see hundreds of skateboarders go by.

      I’ve been to NYC so many times, but I’ve never seen the Statue of Liberty either. I’m glad I didn’t see it as it was falling on my head.

  • ryoko861

    Not at my age. I made it this far unscathed from my youth on those things, not about to push it.

    How about just roller blading? Seems alittle safer. Those kids have a death wish I think.

  • LittleMissVix

    I love New York! Looks fun, I don’t think i’ve ever been on a skateboard – I was more into roller skates. That man is crazy 🙂

  • suzicate

    Those skateboarders make it look so easy, don’t they? Don’t break a leg if you try it!

  • educlaytion

    Is he stealing something from the guy’s bag?

  • Tracy

    ahh, no…although I did own a blue plastic 1980s-style stakeboard as a kid. I never really got the hang of it.

  • Leauxra

    I have been thinking that the longboards look like a ton of fun. Sure, I’m clumsy and would probably break my everything relearning something I did when I was 8, but seriously. It looks like SO MUCH FUN.

  • Linda Medrano

    I love New York. You see the most amazing things everywhere.

  • JustMe

    I miss New York often.

    But not skateboarding. Because I’ve never tried it. Because I’m convinced I would suck.

  • Chase McFadden

    That’d be cool to see all those boarders go by. I used to have a sweet-ass Shredder. I used it to shred off most of the flesh from my palms. The long boards look fun.

  • Deborah the Closet Monster

    I was just getting the hang of it when I got pregnant. I’ve still got the board, but I haven’t had a chance to use it since Li’l D came along!

    I’m looking forward to picking it up again, sometime when Li’l D’s off with his grammas. 🙂

  • Spectra

    Don’t think I’d skateboard. But if somebody ever figures to put some wheels on one of those big fat Boogie Boards, I’m all over that. I also think it would look pretty cool to put wheels on a surfboard,and belly-surf your way thru Times Square.

    good times. Good times.

  • B

    How funny! You’d think in NYC they’ve seen everything by now!

  • Sandi Ormsby

    I thought you had caught the skateboarder reaching inside the bag or taking the bag and skating off…

    We visited Times Square a few years ago, and I swear I was watching a car being ripped off in plain sight. The alarm kept engaging on this really fancy sports car. The couple had dressed themselves up, to make it look like they belonged…meanwhile we passed…and it felt weird…as we back tracked our steps (we took a wrong turn to our destination) we found the guy under the steering wheel trying to what appeared to be “hot wiring” the vehicle and he turned his head and smiled “how you doin'”

    We kept walking, and I never called the police, but I think we witnessed someone’s car being stolen that evening. part of our New York experience for Southern Californians. 🙂 How brazen…tons of people were walking nearby and they just acted like they belonged. The girl was the “look out.” As we walked passed, she said something to him and then he smiled at me and greeted me!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

  • k8edid

    I skateboarded in the 70s but now that I am approaching 60, think I’ll not try it again. My last few encounters with pavement were not pleasant (not for the pavement, either)

  • bevchen

    I used to really want to be able to skateboard when I was a kid. Never got the hang of it though.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

