#23. Muffins, Muffins, and More Muffins

So when I first saw the 1 Mix, 100 Muffins book on sale, it was love at first sight. At least for the first few seconds.

Then I became skeptical. Why is a book containing 100 muffin recipes on clearance instead of a pedestal?

So not judging a book by it’s cover (ba dum ching!) or its price sticker, I opened the book to peruse the recipes.

I counted 25 muffin recipes that I really wanted to make, so I bought the book. 25 muffins was a lot. Only later did I realize that was only 25%. (I’ve never been very good at math.)

 And so, I became a feverish baker. Flour flew into my hair. My blender beat eggs and sugar. My spoon stirred. And my muffins tins were dressed with paper and then filled with mix. I paced in front of the oven like a father outside the delivery room.

Each time I pulled a new muffin from the oven, I broke apart its still-steaming goodness and popped a piece into my anxious mouth.

Sometimes my teeth sunk into the muffin seat with delight, sometimes with disappointment.

About half of the muffins were delicious, but the other half of the recipes yielded muffins that very heavy or not flavorful enough. Maybe it was the recipe, maybe it was the me (this seems most likely).

Surprisingly, the two healthy recipes turned out pretty good. Good-for-you muffins actually taste good? Who’da thunk it? (Spectra, do healthy muffins = muffin tops?)

But I refuse to post healthy muffins on this blog. Just doesn’t seem right.

How about the Blackberry and Apple Muffins instead? They are part of the fruit food group.

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 heaping cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 9 oz apple (plus a little more—my own addition)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 6 tbsp melted and cooled butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (plus a little more—my own addition)
  • 1.5 cups frozen blackberries
  • 3 tbsp raw brown sugar
Mix the flour, baking powder, light brown sugar, and finely chopped apple. Lightly beat the eggs, buttermilk, butter, and vanilla extract. Add blackberries.
 
Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients. Pour in the wet ingredients. STIR GENTLY. DO NOT OVERMIX.
 
Pour the mix into muffin pan. Sprinkle raw brown sugar over the tops. Bake for about 20 minutes at 400.
 
#23 on the 35 Before 35 complete!
About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

32 responses to “#23. Muffins, Muffins, and More Muffins

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

