Putting a Name With the Number

I have a 10-minute commute, so I don’t listen to the radio much. Don’t hate. I’ve been driving 45-90 minutes (one way) for years.

I also don’t have cable, so I don’t watch the news. Perhaps I should have led with this instead. Then you’d feel sorry for my TVlessness.

I don’t get a newspaper either. I’m pretty much the most uninformed person ev-er.

Did you know we’ve had troops in Afghanistan and Iraq since 2001 and 2003? Who knew? Not me.

Ok, so I knew that. I’m not that disconnected.

But you know what I didn’t know? Four people from my town died in Afghanistan.

And exactly 2 years ago today….

  • Spc. Zachary Taylor Myers from Delaware, OH, died in an explosion in Iraq. He was 21 years old.
  • Hospitalman James Ray Layton from Riverbanks, CA, died in an ambush in Afghanistan. He was 22.

CNN has an extremely sobering but informative website that shows the number of casualties in Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF) and Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF).

I encourage you to go check out the site. You can see the people who served and were from your city. It tells you where they’re from, where they died, and it shows their picture. And if you knew that person, you can post a memory about them.

For a project for work, I’m researching OEF and OIF, and that’s how I stumbled upon the CNN site.

Approximately, 2,689 soldiers have died in Afghanistan and 4,793 in Iraq. Why not take a few moments today to put a face with the numbers?

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

14 responses to “Putting a Name With the Number

  • Hippie Cahier

    Thank you for posting this.

    Someone I care about very much is thinking of going back for a third time. I understand and honor that sense of duty, but I so selfishly do not want him to be a number.

  • SuziCate

    Putting names on those we lose in service to our protection really puts it all in perspective. Thank you for reminding me today to thank a soldier.

  • mistyslaws

    This is why I urged the hubs to get out of the reserves when this whole thing started about 10 years ago. Not that he is not extremely patriotic, but they were going to send him over because of his skills and he had already served in the 1st Iraq war, and been sent over a couple more times since then, and we were just starting our family, and it was enough. Plus, at that point, they were telling people that they would go for 6 months, then they would extend for a year or 2. I did not want the hubs killed or to be away for so long just for what I thought was an excuse for the then prez to get revenge on Hussain for daddy. Still think that.

    Also, a very good friend of mine works for the Army and is in Iraq for the 3rd time right now. He is in my thoughts always and I hope he comes home safely. You just never know what will happen in a war zone.

  • Spectra

    Yes, thanks for posting this great reminder, with the September 11th Ten Year memorial just a few days off. A woman who used to be our city manager was in the Marines reserves, and at age 46 ! they shipped her off to Irag, for 2 years! Which forced her to leave a very good paying job for the lowest wagees. They do not pay soldiers much at all.

    She came home fine, though, butthen tripped from the weight of her heavy 80 lb. back pack on the way off the plane and broke her arm! sheesh!

  • Angela Noelle

    What an amazing site… thanks for sharing that. I don’t know anyone personally who has died, but many of my friends know people, so I’m sure that they’ll appreciate this as well.

  • Bonnie

    This is awesome, Thoughtsy. Thanks for the link to the site, I’ll definitely check it out.

  • Catherine

    Great post and a really good reminder. It feels like we’ve been there forever, but we need to respect and appreciate all our soldiers have been through.

  • Linda Medrano

    My husband retired from the Military about 5 years ago. I am so glad he’s out now. There is nothing more frightening than having someone you love in harm’s way. Great post, Thoughtsy.

  • marinasleeps

    Great blog!!
    I didn’t know about this website!!! Its good to know. My brother in law is going to be shipping off Afghan soon.

  • Kelley

    Oh, I really love that idea! Thanks for letting us know about the website. What a tragedy the whole deal is… 😦

  • skippingstones

    I pulled it up and the first few pictures…it’s just heartbreaking to know these smiling faces are gone. They were loved. They belonged to someone who wishes they were still here. Do you mind if I blog this too?

    Also, I feel you on the uninformed thing. I also have no cable and never listen to the radio. When someone asked if the hurricane (Irene) was going to delay my Florida vacation, I said, “what hurricane?”

  • bevchen

    Excellent post. My friend’s cousin was killed in Afghanistan, and my dad is ex-army so I know (of) quite a few people who are in either Iraq or Afghanistan.

    By the way, I don’t even have a TV, never mind cable 😉

  • belleofthecarnival

    It’s heart breaking! We have lost many Canadian soldiers in the Afghan war. I had a friend who teaches on base and she found there was strength in the community. But it was never easy when a father or mother died…

  • Write a Letter of Appreciation Week « Thoughts Appear's Blog

    […] the past, I’ve posted about the Soldiers who lost their lives in Iraq and Afghanistan, but today I’d like to thank you, the […]

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

