Crocodiles and Sting Rays and Sharks, Oh My!

A shark bit me. I have the band aid to prove it.

That’s one sexy ankle, isn’t it? The shark thought so, too.

Hes looking at me funny.

I’m lucky that’s my only wound. I narrowly escaped death several times at the Florida Aquarium.

I wrestled a crocodile and escaped unscathed.

Stop looking at me!

So I was not about to tempt fate and pet the stingray. No siree.

I know what you did to the Crocodile Hunter....

 At the aquarium, you can pet sting rays. Notice that I said “you.” That’s because you can, but I cannot. I know I can’t because I tried.

I thrust my hand into the water, and every time one of those little buggers came near, I pulled out in a panic.

Pet a wolf? Hells yeah! Pet a penguin? I’m down. Pet a sting ray? Hell no!

The aqaurium has posters with proper petting instructions, but these instructions were tricky:

  1. Use only 2 fingers. What about a finger and a thumb? Can I only use 1 finger? What about 1 finger from each hand?
  2. Only touch the safe zone, not the danger zone.

The danger zone is the middle of the string ray, and the safe zone is the edges. But I ask you, how can you be sure you’re staying in the safe zone?

What if one of those little buggers is vindicative and just looking for an excuse to sting?

I put my two fingers in the water and reach for the wing of the sting ray. Suddenly, the ray fakes left, moves right, and my fingers end up in the danger zone.

WA-BAM!

No more Thoughts.

And…this is the last of my cruise posts. Sad thoughts all around.

As a side note, I didn’t realize the comments were off most of the day on yesterday’s post. They’re on now if you want to leave a comment teasing me about my 1 pushup.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

20 responses to “Crocodiles and Sting Rays and Sharks, Oh My!

  • nikitaland

    That sucks about your shark bite – hope you’re ok! Maybe he wanted a sweet snack! LOL At least you did not get stung by jelly fish like I did in the Bahamas & had to have someone pee on you! Yep, that is the only way to get the pain to go away. (they tried lemon juice, but that did not work well) Ouchie! Glad you are ok!

  • fnkybee

    The shark bite isn’t a bad thing it is now an Epic Story telling that you are just bad ass. “I got bit by a shark, what you got? Nothing? That’s right I’m a badass!”

  • pearlsandprose

    Stingrays creep me out too. They definitely shift direction with no warning! Glad you still have all your fingers so you can keep writing the blog. 🙂

  • Linda Medrano

    I am so sorry you got a shark bite. I think you should sue for damages. Well, at least blog about it. Oh, okay. I wouldn’t go sticking my hand in with sting rays or sharks either. But that’s me! I do have two wolves (okay dogs but they look like wolves) and they have never bitten me on purpose. The only bites have been accidental when I’m giving them treats. They are a little like great white sharks when food is involved. I’m amazed at your bravery. I’m also a little amazed at Nikitaland and her golden shower! Rock on Girl!

  • Cities of the Mind

    They’re usually nice unless you step on them. Obviously far scarier than sharks and crocodiles, though, I admit.

  • marinasleeps

    Dude I would not wanna touch a sting ray either! They killed the Steve Irwin and I will not forgive them! Never! And well, anything with a danger zone is not worth the risk, much like myself. Though I have erongeousness zones (looking at my body) well, everywhere.
    Ok now we just straying off the topic. But you don’t wanna go there. No sirreee bob!
    I bet the Cro and shark smelled the pop tarts on ya!

  • Amy

    I’ve petted sting rays at the Georgia Aquarium and they did show us the “two finger” technique, but never said anything about a “danger zone.” Geeze, I was *that* close to death and I didn’t even know it!

  • bridgesburning

    Sent here by Office Oddities..love your site..am with you on those critters..no touching!
    Chris

  • educlaytion

    I have totally pet a stingray and thereby tasted death. It tasted like stingray.

  • duckofindeed

    My biggest wound came from a scooter. Unless you count the one from the oral surgeon. Or those dentists. I pet sting rays before and fed them. It was fun.

  • Denise

    You would get my sympathy on the shark bite but any of those crazy people who get in the tank with the sharks deserve what they get:) lol. I see you met Big Mamma – that’s the big stingray in that tank. She’s harmless. Bruce nearly fell in that tank once and she didn’t eat him.

  • cocktailsattiffanys

    I did the pet a stingray thing once but they never informed me on any danger zone!! That is very nerve racking to know that with 1 wrong touch an arm could be lost. You’re so very informative and I hope your shark bite gets better!
    -Gizzy

  • Britan

    I’m with you! A friend recently swam (obviously, insane!) with stingrays on her honeymoon. For some reason, one of them decided to give her a little stingray hickey riiiiiight on her rear end! I guess she lucked out with the kiss…could have been stung!

  • hoodyhoo

    you’re several brain synapses smarter than me — I don’t remember that sea anenomes/stingrays/what have you are dangerous until about 2 seconds AFTER I have put my mitts on them…

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

