Are You Army Fit?

Why did I take the Army’s PT Test?

For a free lunch.

Several readers suspect the truth about my occupation: I’m not really in the Special Forces Covert Ops. I’m not even in the Army.

The Colonel where I work allows contractors and civilians to take the PT Test alongside our soldiers. And if you beat his scores (or the ranking female officer’s scores), he buys you lunch.

And this may come as a surprise to you, but I do eat other food besides Pop-Tarts. I love food! Especially free food!

So on Wednesday’s humid 85-degree afternoon, I took the PT Test.

First up was my nemesis: Pushups.

Making this face helps. (http://www.usar.army.mil)

  • Passing Requirement: 17 pushups in 2 minutes. No lifting your hands or feet off the floor.
  • My Number: 1. Fail!
  • Colonel’s Number: 86.

That’s right. I said 1. I am so proud of myself. A month ago I couldn’t do any, so I’m particularly proud of my 1 pushup.

Next was situps. I do crunches regularly, so I didn’t even practice. And as I started doing situps, I realized not practicing was a mistake.

  • Passing Requirement: 45 situps in 2 minutes. No laying on the floor to rest. You can only rest in the up position.
  • My Number: 45. Pass!
  • Colonel’s Number: 120.

The last event was the 2-mile run. I don’t really run. My cardio is usually the elliptical machine or dance aerobic DVDs, and I’ve never run more than a mile.

  • Passing Requirement: 2 miles in 20 minutes and 30 seconds.
  • My Time: 19 minutes and 37 seconds. Pass!
  • Colonel’s Time: 12 minutes and I don’t-remember-how-many seconds.

So no free lunch for me. I’ll get him next time.

One of the coolest things about taking the PT test was the number of supporters. Several Army majors and lieutenant colonels who were taking the test a different came out anyways to cheer us on!

It made me want to join the Army…well, if they get rid of the pushups.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

13 responses to “Are You Army Fit?

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

