#11. The Great Mexican Outdoors

In addition to lazing about, having ice cream spoonfed to me, laying around tanning on the cruise ship, I also got off the cruise ship in Grand Cayman and Cozumel, Mexico.

In Cozumel, Kiefer and I did the Beach Buggy and Snorkel excursion. It was a neat excursion that incorporated a little bit of everything: driving a dune buggy, snorkeling, visiting Mayan ruins, playing with crocodiles, climbing the steps of a lighthouse, and eating Mexican food.

View from the lighthouse (130 steps!)

I enjoyed the excursion, especially the snorkeling. I could snorkel all day…as long as dessert breaks are included.

The Mayan ruins were a little disappointing because it was an ancient Mayan weather station about the size of your SUV.

The only part of the excursion that stunk was the dust. I was covered in dust. I broke my hairbrush trying to untangle my hair, and my hair looked prematurely gray with all the dust in it. I had to wash my hair 3 times. Three times, people!

And that is why I hate outdoorsy stuff: the dirt. Ewwww. But I’m now crossing it off my 30 Before 30 list.

My suggestion to you: bring a hat. Just to be safe, maybe stay in a bubble until it’s time to snorkel.

Maybe just snorkel down the coast to see the lighthouse instead of riding in the dune buggy. You’ll have kick like a madman, but I have faith in your kicking ability.

And one more thing, you can never put on too much sunscreen. And put it everywhere. EV-ERY-WHERE.

Including your scalp. The skin from my hair’s part got sunburnt, and now it’s peeling. And I look like I’m part snake. Or have the worst case of dandruff ever.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

35 responses to “#11. The Great Mexican Outdoors

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

