#4. A Penny Saved Is a Penny Earned

To save or not to save, that is the question….

November 21, 2010, should have been a national holiday.

Why? Because that day I made my last car payment.

That left me with an extra $291 a month. Do you know how many pairs of pants that will buy? (Not that I wear pants. Ask Blarney, she’ll tell you all about my “fake pants.”) How many books? How many ice cream cones? How many Pop-Tarts? Pick your own equivalent.

Or I could make the responsible choice and save it.

 

Saving $291 a month could make me a millionaire! Start sucking up now, people!

Let’s do the math.

In 3,436 months (not counting interest), I could be a millionaire.

That’s 286 years.

Craaaaaaaaap.

Although I’m fairly certain that I will live that long, my newly paid-off car probably won’t, and then I’ll have another flippin’ car payment.

Damn the man.

I should blow my $291 on Pop-Tarts, have the world’s most insane sugar high ever, set a world record for most Pop-Tarts consumed ever, and then slip into a sugar coma.

Then you could say, “I knew her when….”

Or I could do the responsible thing (even though it won’t make me a millionaire): Every month move an extra $200 into my savings account. Hence allowing me to cross #4 off my 30 Before 30 List.

Leaving me with an extra $91 a month to play with.

Any suggestions on what to do with my $91? How much are tickets to Italy going for these days? More than $91?

Oh.

$91 in Pop-Tarts it is.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

45 responses to “#4. A Penny Saved Is a Penny Earned

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

