Victory, Valentine, and the Other V-Word

Until the violence stops…

Did you celebrate V-Day this year? V-Day is a global movement to end violence against women.

Saturday Princess and I went to see The Vagina Monologues. That’s right. I said it: Va-Gi-Na.

If you haven’t seen it, you should. (Guys, I’m talking to you, too.) Eve Ensler’s Vagina Monologues combine humor, startling statistics, and touching true stories. Best of all, 100% of the money from the play goes to different organizations to help victims of violence.

And plays that give out chocolate vaginas count as something artsy, so I’m crossing #23 off my 30 Before 30 List.

My favorite monologue was “My Angry Vagina.” Here’s an excerpt:

Then there’s those exams. Who thought up those exams? I know there has to be a better way….Why the funky rubber gloves? Why the flashlight all up there like Nancy Drew working against gravity?

Here are just a few things I learned:

  • The clitoris has twice as many nerve-thingys as the penis. Twice as many!
  • Every 15 seconds a woman is abused in the United States. How long will it take you to read this post? How many women were abused while you read?
  • 130 million women a year suffer genital mutilation.
About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

17 responses to “Victory, Valentine, and the Other V-Word

  • fnkybee

    I have always wanted to see the Vagina Monologues! I have only heard amazing things about it. I will make it a point to go when it comes!

  • HackingVegas

    While I have to say I have never seen this but I have heard a lot about it. There are a few troops out there doing these but Eve’s is suppose to be the best. I would go see it if it ever came around. I love theatre and if the money is for good cause I think everyone should take some time to have a laugh all while learning something. Congrats on knocking off 23

  • 36x37

    Glad you enjoyed The Vagina Monologues, Thoughts. I surprised my mom with tickets a few years ago. At first, she was mortified–totally nonplussed. Then we spent the next two hours laughing our fool heads off.

  • Artswebshow

    Anything with vagina gets my vote. lol

  • TheIdiotSpeaketh

    The last two things you listed are truly tragic.

  • pearlsandprose

    Truly horrible stats.
    Have always meant to see Vagina Monologues and never made it. Will have to go now.

    You’ve crossed a lot of things off your list! How about camping in Canada? Then you could knock off two at the same time. But how much time do you have left? It might be a tad chilly in Canada right now.

  • Thypolar

    I agree with Mr T. We will definitely take the time to see it when it comes around. I’d have to agree that a chocolate vagina is definitely “artsy”. Congrats on crossing off another 30 before 30.

  • Pauline

    Violence against women is a real problem in rich and poorer countries and needs to stop! That is great that the proceeds from the Monologues goes directly to victims!

  • marinasleeps

    I am very into V-day. She came when I was in college and I been involved in as many movements as I could be. I hate hearing all the stories of the girls in Africa and other places that are mutilated for being women!
    Awesome that you got to experience that!

  • Todd Pack

    Those statistics are truly depressing.

  • leafprobably

    Those stats are scary. Thanks for posting this though! Are you doing anythign for International Womens Day on March 8? I’m doing lots of promotion stuff for it at work at the moment, and apparantly the UNDP has a thing where you can send their chief Helen Clark a photo of yourself holding up a question for her to answer. Pretty cool! I’m thinking about asking one.

  • hoodyhoo

    You go girl! You’re being so very socially responsible lately, it makes me proud to know you!

  • Catherine

    I loved the book and really would like to see the show in person. Thanks so much for writing this post – it’s such an important topic.
    Vagina
    Vagina
    VAGINA!!!!

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

