The Crow Teaches More Than Flying

The Crow. Definitely one of my favorite movies.

Just in case you’ve never seen it (You’ve seen it, right? Right? You better have.), here’s a super quick plot summary:

It’s a dark movie based on a comic book. Eric Draven and his fiancee are brutally murdered on Devil’s Night, but a crow brings Eric back to life to punish the gang who killed him.

If the people we love are stolen from us, the way to have them live on is to never stop loving them. Buildings burn. People die. But real love is forever.

Like Empire Records, the movie has a great soundtrack. I wonder if subconsciously I judge movies based on their soundtracks. Hmmm.

Just to be safe, if you ever meet me in person, you may want to hum an awesome song right after introductions. May I suggest the Wonder Woman theme?

Anyways, here’s what I learned from The Crow:

  • “Morphine is bad for you.”
  • “It can’t rain all the time.”
  • “Onions make you fart…big time.”

Unfortunately, Brandon Lee died while filming. He was shot. So the most important thing I learned from this movie is Never play with guns.

If you’ve never seen The Crow, that’s your homework assignment this weekend: to watch it.

Also, apparently, there are four Crow movies. I’ve only seen the first two. Has anyone seen all of them?

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

29 responses to “The Crow Teaches More Than Flying

  • 36x37

    I did see The Crow on a date once. I don’t remember anything about it, other than the excellent sound track. Now maybe I’ll have to watch it again.

  • fnkybee

    I tried to watch the Crow. This was years ago and I didn’t make it through the movie. I’m pretty sure it was the psychedelic mushrooms that we ate as to why I couldn’t make it through. 😉 That is a true story.

  • Todd Pack

    I’ve never seen the movie, except for a couple of scenes on a show where they were talking about how they completed the movie after Brandon Lee’s death. I remember there’s a scene where he’s walking into an apartment at night, and they’d actually lifted his image from an earlier, cut scene where he’d been walking through an alley, and I thought, Wow, isn’t that something?

  • shoutabyss

    I admit I’ve never seen The Crow. But I’ve heard of it. And you actually made it sound interesting. I’ll check and see if it can be found on the Roku. Thanks!

  • educlaytion

    I’ve seen The Crow a few times. I was actually a Brandon Lee fan from Rapid Fire on. The Crow was going to put him on top, kind of how Batman was going to put Heath Ledger on top. He was so talented. You and I def have similar movie interests. And yes, It can’t rain all the time.

  • The Flying Chalupa

    I, too, love The Crow. It was my favorite movie in high school – major crush on Brandon Lee and was heart-broken to learn he was shot. Never seen the other movies – how could they compare???

    But your lesson of “never play with guns?” That’s pretty damn funny.

  • Thypolar

    I saw the original Crow in the theatres half my lifetime ago and fell in love with it (gasp…..I think I just aged myself). The soundtrack is phenomenal! I never saw the sequels though. Was the second one worth watching?

  • Leashieloo

    I’ve never seen the film, but I remember The Simpsons parody:

    MARGE
    Homer, I’m very uncomfortable about having a gang of crows in our bedroom.

    HOMER
    It’s a murder, honey. A group of crows is called a murder.

  • LBB

    I’ve never seen it. But I’ve got Netflix.

  • Hippie Cahier

    I have never seen the movie, probably for reasons having to do with “dark” and lovers being murdered; however, this whole true love/bringing back to life thing sounds very Greek tragicomedy. Maybe I’ll re-think it.

  • apieceofthepiehole

    The last time I saw The Crow was when I was 21. I woke up that night with a kidney stone and I was screaming for morphine with strange flashes from the movie running through my head as I headed to the ER. Fun times. Needless to say it was a great movie, but I have a bit of PTSD regarding that whole night and The Crow is now a ‘trigger”! 🙂

  • Scott Oglesby

    That was one of the best movies of all time for sure!

    But no, morphine isn’t at all bad for you. It’s as important as vitamin D because it makes you happy and well balanced. So, like, can I have some?

  • mescribe

    It’s horrible that he gets shot. I’ve heard that they used that take in the movie, so when he gets shot, he really gets shot. Oh, I shudder just thinking about it, but I’m not sure if it’s even true. Anyway, I have seen it and it is a fantastic movie. Such a waste of a really talented actor. Grr.

  • barb7802

    Never watched the movie. Did see a few clips. I will keep it on my list of movies I need to watch this year. Man! I’m going to be busy.

  • TheIdiotSpeaketh

    Great movie. I think I have seen 3 of the 4. The first is by far the best.

  • marinasleeps

    The Crow … ok I can see why people liked the movie. However I got into wrestling and now I get the guy from the Crow mixed up with the wrestler. Sting. They are both are in pain so its all the same.
    Just saying. Oh yeah… my one cussword. Fuck!

  • Cat

    The Crow was one of my favorite movies when I was a teenager. I don’t think I’ve seen it since; I’ll have to break it out. Wonder if I still have a VHS player somewhere? Thanks for stopping by.

  • leafprobably

    I love The Crow! I’ve watched it many times, and I have seen the others too (I watched them on YouTube of all places. It played havoc with my internet allowance!)
    Definitely worth watching the 3rd and 4th movies – obviously they’ll never be as good as the first, but they’re still a good watch, and they tend to all have pretty OK sound tracks – they’re always very representative of the coolest music from the time that they’re filmed.

  • bluntdelivery

    1. never seen the crow. thus, i don’t have an opinion on this post.

    2. but i would like to comment that you shouldn’t take morphine OR methadone. especially if you don’t know what it is and a charming british guy just tell u that it will definitely get rid of your cramps.

    3. true story.

  • BeneathTheSpinLight

    I’m in love with all your posts about movies and what we can learn from them. Please watch Fight Club in your near future so I can enjoy two of my favorite things at once. Hint: two of my favorite things are your blog and Fight Club.

  • ian

    as far as the second, the only reason to watch city of angels is to watch the deftones, other than that, it’s the “batman suit with nipples” in comparison.

    oh, and never play with guns. they’re not toys.

  • Lorraine

    I saw the second crow movie in a dark room with my much older cousins. I begged to be allowed to watch it, and so they were like… fine. Of course I ended up hiding behind a cousin the entire time, pretending to watch, but really staring at his back for an hour and a half. I’ve been chicken shit since I was little. 😉

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

