I Need To Be More Smelly

Is anyone else obsessed with smells? And by “obsessed,” I mean a healthy obsession. Not like my coworker who sniffs rubberbands.

Usually I use Jelly Belly’s Blueberry Muffin perfume, and since it’s winter, I’ve been smathering on chapstick (Vanilla Mint) and lip gloss (Philosophy’s Toasted Marshmallow) like a mad woman.

But that’s not enough. Apparently, I prefer a buffet of scents, and my lotion must also smell.

Not Bog of Eternal Stench kind of smelly...

I use Aveeno lotion. It’s not too greasy, and my skin actually feels softer after I use it. I love it.

My one complaint: it doesn’t smell like anything.

Do you have any idea how many hours I’ve wasted in Sephora rubbing and lotioning my hands?

Lotioning and oiling, oiling and lotioning…. I can’t take this no more!

Kudos to anyone who knows what that quote is from.

Seriously though, I wander around the store squirting  and smelling lotion, rubbing my hands together, and whispering, “My precious…must find the precious….”

And I still can’t find a lotion that moisturizes and smells good.

Maybe I’m just doomed. Doomed to choose between living a life of dry but sweet-smelling skin or unscented silky smooth skin.

Being a girl stinks sometimes. (Well, not literally.)

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

39 responses to “I Need To Be More Smelly

  • Holly

    The one I found was from ann summers and now it’s on like 75% off sale I’m also smell obsessed although recently it’s been about getting yankee candles and burning them EVERYWHERE!

    Knickerbox Lush Body Cream, is a rich moisturising and soothing cream you can use all over your body. It contains Shea butter to soften and nourish, vitamin E to protect and act as an antioxidant, glycerine to moisturise, Aloe Vera to sooth and Provitamin B5 to condition your skin. The light floral fragrance is as fresh as a daisy, combining juicy grapefruit & raspberry notes along with wild strawberry & green leaf. This leads to a floral heart of violet, pink peony, lily, gardenia and musk, finishing with an infusion of vanilla and sandalwood.

  • nikki04

    “Smells baaaaad!!!”

    No, not you. Well, to be perfectly honest, I don’t know. They haven’t worked out transmitting smells via internet, yet (probably to our advantage). But I’ll take your word that you’re not Bog-smelly.

    I really like Kiss My Face peaches lotion – for the smell. I like other lotion for the lotion-part. BUT. Suggestion? If you really like the Aveeno lotion, find an essential oil you love, then just add a few drops to the lotion. Shake. Use. Your own special sent! And you could change it with the season! 😀

    Wow – had my Monday epiphany by 9am. On your blog.

  • Denise

    I know what you mean – I love light smelling lotions but don’t like anything that is greasy or overpowering. And often the nice smelling ones just don’t work. Tree Hut Lotion Shea Body Butter in Brazilian Nut is really good. I have only seen it at my grocery store but apparently it is sold in lots of places if you google it. Also, walmart had a new brand I tried a few months ago – it smelled like cucumbers and melon. I think it was called bodycology.

  • Angela Noelle

    One of my saddest discoveries in recent years is that I just cannot use smelly soaps or moisturizers. It breaks me out like nobodies business! But through college I had an ENORMOUS basket full of ever body wash, lotion and spray produced by Bath & Bodyworks and I used them liberally! And from what I remember, they had a Shea butter lotion that worked really well.

  • mairzeebp

    Sadly I am allergic to most scented lotions. The same goes for most perfumes and shampoos/hair products. I know, a moment of silence. I would gladly suggest something but not much has made it inside my allergen free bubble.

  • unabridgedgirl

    The Sandlot is where the quote is from! 🙂 Hahahahah.

  • mescribe

    Oh, yeah, is there anything better than having a shower and washing your hair and using that favorite shower cream and stepping out – all uber-fragrant of course – and rubbing a nice-smelling lotion all over the shower fragrance so as not to lose it? And then – oh, Heaven on Earth – going to bed in a freshly made bed?

    Smells are like a life-fundament, even though I swear I’m not obsessed by them in the way you are, spending hours in beauty shops looking for The Scent. I suppose this might come of me already having found one I’m very comfortable with, which also is great for my skin: Nivea soft. Can’t recall if you’ve got it over there… I remember I used Aveeno when I lived on your fair shores and I really liked it as well, apart from your complaint: its lack of smell…

    Sorry, not sure if this post will be of any help to you since my suggestion might only be available in Europe. Hold on, I’ll check!

    You can actually find it on drugstore.com:

    http://www.drugstore.com:80/Search/search_results.asp?Ntk=All&Ntx=mode%2bmatchallpartial&srchtree=1&Ntt=Nivea+Soft&N=4294904901

    Just in case. 🙂

    xxx

  • LBB

    It’s instinct to smell pleasant. After all, it wasn’t all that long ago that our ancestry used smell to choose a mate!

    Somewhere in our brain’s hardwiring, we still remember that.

  • Britt

    My favourite of all time is Bath and Body Works Warm Vanilla Sugar. It smells so delicious. I’m also a St. Ives fan too. 🙂

  • Melissa

    Ahhhh! You’d be the death of me! A lot of scents give me headaches. My roommate and I have had countless discussions of, “Yeah, sorry, but… you can’t use that ever again.” …Ok, I’m not that ridiculous, but I do make her use her hairspray in her room.

  • J

    You let me know the day you find a chapstick that actually WORKS and also tastes good, and I will bow down to you. Because I think it’s impossible.

    • thoughtsappear

      Right now I’m using the Chap Stick chap stick. Whoa…the brand name is the same as the product? Who knew?

      It’s vanilla mint, and it works pretty well. But I haven’t been able to find any more of it. =(

  • Hippie Cahier

    My son hooked me up with some great stuff from Bath & Body works — ocean something, sea something….can’t remember. Usually that stuff gives me a headache, but this one doesn’t. On my desk at work I have Suave Aloe with Cucumber. Just enough scent to be ok, not enough to have anyone in the office putting worn clothes from the Goodwill in my dry-cleaning.

  • Megan (Best of Fates)

    I’ve never heard of toasted marshmallow as a scent, but now I’m intrigued…

  • Thypolar

    I know what you mean. I use raspberry vanilla body spray. When it comes to lotions, I have to be careful what I use because of my allergies. I use to use Aveeno all the time because it worked so good but I’m allergic to it. Now I use Hawaiin tropics body butter. It smells like coconut and if I ever need to run away to a tropical island I just have to grab my cranberry and vodka, close my eyes and take a deep breath. 😉

  • Carly in Wonderland

    I am! Thats why I work in a soap store!

  • Karin

    I tend to get bored with smells…lotiony ones that is. Those large 3 for $15 bottles at Bath and Body Works seem to still be half-full by the time I am done with the smell trend. Annnndd….my husband never likes the same smell as me. Soooo…up…I am SMELLLESS.

  • Stacey

    My sister smells EVERYTHING. It’s kind of disturbing. It looks like she and your coworker would get along famously.

  • The Flying Chalupa

    I use the Aveeno too – love it, but a little scent would be lovely. Awaiting the post that updates us of your new find!

  • educlaytion

    I don’t have the need to be a sweet smelling woman, mostly because, well, I am a man. But you never know these days. Love the Sandlot quote. Most importantly, I need you to know that I had time to actually watch a movie the other night. I chose, and this is all because of you, to go with Empire Records extended cut on Netflix (which is where I always watch movies). So great reliving that one. Gotta love the crew. “I don’t feel I need to explain my art to you Warren.”

  • Ashley

    I’m obsessed with smells. I love good ones, but bad ones seem so bad. Smells are associated with so many different memories for me.

    However, I try not to go out of my way and be all creepy like about sniffing things.

  • pearlsandprose

    Bodycology’s Gardenia lotion is pretty nice. They have it at Bed Bath & Beyond….

  • glennraymond

    You could always add a few drops of your favorite essencial oil, or eu de cheesecake. This is another great blog item, kid-o.

  • welcome to the middle of life

    Alba Botanica original formula is my favorite. It doesn’t smell like marshmallows, but it will make your skin feel FANTASTIC. It smells like, well, some sort of botanicals. Hence the name, I guess… 🙂

  • hoodyhoo

    you can’t beat the Palmer’s Cocoa Butter lotion — it’s soaks in without leaving grease AND you smell like FUDGE!

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

