Is It Hot in Here? Or Is It Just Me?

Last night I talked with my friend Puddin’. We always cover a broad range of topics, such as the following:

  • Mary Poppins’s bloomers
  • Pop-Tarts vs. Frosted Mini-Wheats for breakfast
  • Books (in particular how Alice I Have Been made me suspect Lewis Carroll’s intentions towards little girls)
  • Tom Hanks movies
  • Her son saying “Okey Dokey”
  • Handsome Hot actors

I’d like to open up the last bullet for discussion. Here’s an excerpt of Puddin’ and I’s conversation.

Puddin’: I’ve been abusing my free trial of Netflix. All I do is watch movies….God, Hugh Jackson is hot.

Me: Yeah, he is. ::Sigh:: Until he opens his mouth. Wait, or is that Gerard Butler? One of them sounds like a goofball.

Puddin’: You know who is hot? Channing Tatum. And he’s 30! He’s in my age range! I always feel weird saying Taylor Lautner is hot….

Me: Yeah. I don’t like admitting that I think Taylor Lautner is hot to anyone but you. So Channing Tatum is our new Cabana boy?

When I was a tween (Yes, I just said “Tween.” I’m hip.), I had crushes on tons of guys. But once I got a little older, I remember there really only being 2 go-to hot adult actors: Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise.

And Sean Connery. (And am I the only one who had a little thing for Tommy Lee Jones?) But let’s face it…an 18-year-old couldn’t admit to that. It’s only acceptable for a real adult to say that, not a wannabe adult.

Now there are tons of good-lookin’ actors to drool over.

Who are some of your favorite actors/actresses now and when you were younger?

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

40 responses to “Is It Hot in Here? Or Is It Just Me?

  • Denise

    Ryan Reynolds of course:) And he’s sexier now that he lost his baggage. Totally crushed on Tom Cruise back in his Top Gun and Cocktail days. But your totally forgetting about Eric Estrada in his CHIPs uniform – he was kinda hot too.

  • Tinkerschnitzel

    My first pick is Matthew MacFadyen. (Mr. Darcy in the Kiera Knightly Pride & Prejudice.) Hot! People look at me funny when I say Nic Cage. I think it’s more the bad boy attitude when combined with the long hair, although he was pretty hot in the National Treasure movies. I always crushed on Harrison Ford when I was little.

  • Hippie Cahier

    I’m a little concerned that Kiefer Sutherland is missing from the list. I’m sure it was just an oversight. 😉

    • Hippie Cahier

      So, I wasn’t going to answer this one for real. Oh, me? I don’t go for “hot,” which is kind of true.
      I’m attracted to quiet, thoughtful, and/or boyish. Tom Hanks would be at or near the top of that list, but I don’t necessarily think of him as hot. Richard Gere and Keanu Reeves are there, too.

      I was just this minute reminded, though, that I’m full of baloney about not going for “hot.” A couple of months ago, I was asked at the last minute to sit in on a meeting with a new VIP where I work. He looks exactly like a combination of Harrison Ford and Richard Gere. In fact, in my head, I immediately named him Harrison Gere. At some point I realized it was my turn. He was looking right at me and talking.
      On the outside I was all business (I hope). On the inside it went something like this, “OMG OMG OMG He’s talking to me. Harrison Gere is talking to ME. Shh. Shh. Shh. Listen! What’s he asking? What’s he saying? I don’t know! All I know is he’s saying it to ME!”
      I have no idea what went on in that meeting. I can only hope that my offer to bear his children remained on the inside.

    • thoughtsappear

      I think I like the real Kiefer’s voice more than the way he looks.

  • unabridgedgirl

    I was addicted to X-Files in high school, so naturally I had a crush on David Duchovny. I’m pretty sure my crush on Colin Firth comes from his being Mr. Darcy, not only in Pride and Prejudice, but in Bridget Jones’s Diary.

    I think Christian Bale is hot, until he opens his mouth.

    I think there is something strangely sexy about Hugh Laurie.

    And, though he is now dead, I love the old movie star, Olivier Lawrence. Yum.

  • Zahara

    Off the top of my head, I really liked Rhys Ifans in “Danny Deckchair”. If you haven’t seen this movie, what are you waiting for? It’s a riot. I think Tommy Lee Jones is sexy, also Brad Pitt was mighty ripped in “Troy”. George Clooney! Goofy and handsome, love that combo.

  • dearlifeofmine

    Hello – Matthew McConeghy (however you spell that silly name). Hes such a cuite with his little acccent! And for the record, I dig that Gerard Butler sounds goofy. haha. It makes him more endearing. AND Channing tatum, seriously girly name, his serious MAN-NESS pulls it off. lol

  • Raena

    When I was in high school, my friend and I had a huge crush on Mark Wahlberg. Now I’m liking Christian Kane from Leverage and Timothy Olyphant.

  • welcome to the middle of life

    When I was in my teens a bunch of us girls were sitting around talking about what actors we thought were sexy. I said, “Christopher Walken”. You could have heard a pin drop.
    These days I’m all about the Brits – Colin Firth, Clive Owen, pretty much any man in a BBC production of anything. Sigh.

  • J

    I was OBSESSED with Leonardo DiCaprio as a tween. Now I think he looks really odd. Like a man/boy.

    These days, Ryan Gosling, Jake Gyllenhaal and Robert Downy Jr. work it for me.

  • The Flying Chalupa

    Channing Tatum is definitely hotness. But is it sad that I don’t really know who he is? God, I’m getting old.

    If pushed in the right direction, I would do Jake Gyllenhal. Also, Javier Bardem. Oh, and that dude from Avatar. Man, he is smokin.

  • fnkybee

    I fell in love with Matthew McConaughey the first time I watched Dazed and Confused, Joey McIntyre from NKOTB (yep I said it), Corey Haim was just so dreamy, now I would eat Justin Timberlake alive, Josh Holloway (Sayer from lost…OH GOD..just got a little excited there and now I will stop. 🙂

  • Mandy

    When I was younger, I was in love with Christian Slater, Jean Claude Van Damme (lol), Leonardo DiCaprio, Brian from East17 (bahaha) and (ohgod) Jason Priestly and Luke Perry (Original Beverly Hills 90210 was in then in Oz)

    In the middle I loved Matthew McConaughey but now meh I dunno.
    Now I find these yummies hot; Jensen Ackles, Jared Padalecki, definitely Channing tatum, James Marsden (have you seen Death at a funeral way funny), David Clayton Rogers, Ryan Reynolds, Bradley Cooper, Wentworth Miller, Johnny Knoxville, Robert Downey Jr, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Josh Hartnett, Christian Bale (esp in Batman Begins), and Sam Worthington isn’t too bad.

    Never before liked Ashton Kutcher but he’s not too bad…..

    And you know who I’ve always loved (bar maybe for 1 year about a year ago) ………Bruce Willis and Johnny Lee Miller!!! When I was a tween, teen and adult (there’s something between teen and adult isn’t there lol I think it was just called immaturity by my mother)

    Oh Sorry you want me to stop, lol ok

  • barb7802

    I am a bit fickle. Started with Tom Selleck. Dumped him quickly for Robert Redford. Oh, my! Tom Cruise. You have mey my boys. ( Brad Pitt, Johnny Depp, Orlando Bloom, C’mon, Eric Winter) Hold on a minute….I need to splash water on my face! OK. Better now. Don’t laugh, does anyone else think Zachary Levi (Chuck) is cute> As fnkybee said…time to stop. Fun post.

  • Sass

    Jensen Ackles and Matt Bomer are two hotties. Oh and Robert Hoffman! He can dance (better than Channing Tatum) so that’s a bonus 🙂

    When I was younger I think I was too caught up on NSYNC and Backstreet Boys to actually watch tv. Hehe

  • hoodyhoo

    I have a thing for Johnny Depp (and technically have since “21 Jump Street,” yeah, I’m THAT old!) but lately I find I’d really prefer he kept the Captain Jack Sparrow eyeliner on and did the accent… so I think I actually have a thing for a fictional, drunken pirate.

  • LBB

    My mom loves Tommy Lee Jones.

  • Karin

    Jonathan Taylor Thomas. Andrew Keegan. WOW that must date my age! haha And my favorite female back in the day was Reese Witherspoon and Meg Ryan. (They still are now) But I am a huge fan of Ashley Judd, Ryan Reynolds, and Johny Depp now.

  • Pauline

    I’ve never really been interested in “pretty boys” or ones who were constantly shoved in our faces as “hot”. Some actors that I have had crushes on include Malcolm McDowell, Tim Curry, Anthony Hopins, Ralph Fiennes and Sam Neil.

    Actual talent+ brains=Sexy in my book!

  • penelope9

    Harrison Ford – even at the tender age of 8 I knew a man when I saw one.

  • mescribe

    When I was younger it was definitely Mel Gibson and Bruce Willis and Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise and Sylvester Stallone when it came to the adult ones. (Shallowness was then my God.) (And Action Heros, it seems. I promise I grew up feeling very safe and cared for.)

    I also really loved the guy from Free Willy… what’s his name? Long one. James Jason… Jason Jamie… Ah, hell, I’ll IMDb his ass… Jason James Richter, there we go. Not that far off. And Brad Renfro. Huge fan of The Client. (Tommy Lee Jones I was too young to appreciate, but nod to you, Thoughts, for bringing his name up. He has charisma!) I was a teeny-bobber, though, and had a huge crush on Brian of the Backstreet Boys for ages, and so no actor really stole my heart away.

    Now?

    Well, I agree with whoever wrote Ryan Reynolds because GOD. (Still with the worshipping… Hmh.) Ashton Kutcher. Henry Cavill. And the very, very young, but extremely talented Jeremy Sumpter (not to be a cradle robber, but give the dude another five or so years and he will be f.i.n.e). Bruce Willis is still hot. Billy Crudup. Jim Caviezel. And, star of all stars in my skies, Robert Downey Jr, for whom I believe I would lay my body on a train track if it meant he would swoop in wearing his Iron Man suit, or just a suit or a pair of briefs or socks or a thumb ring, I’m not very picky. I’d just want him to rescue me so I could fawn over him appropriately. 🙂

    Think I got a little carried away here. I don’t have a problem, I swear.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

