Spreading the Christmas Commitment Cheer

I don’t know if it’s the holiday spirit or what, but lately Kiefer has been melting my heart.

Let me add a preface that all of the comments have been small, but I’m loving it just the same. My reaction has just been a bit…delayed.

Exhibit A

Kiefer and I were watching a movie while addressing our Christmas cards. (Since we don’t live together, we send separate cards.) Just as we were finishing up….

Kiefer: “This will be the last year for this.”

Me: “Are we sending ecards next year?”

Kiefer: “Next year we’ll be able to do our Christmas cards together. We’ll just send one.”

My first reaction: “Oh.”

My delayed reaction: “Ohhhhhh! I should hug you now.”

What He Probably Meant: Addressing Christmas cards takes forever. Especially since I don’t have home address labels. I should let Thoughts live with me just so I can make her do all the work.  She could be my personal assistant.

My Interpretation: By this time next year, not only will we be living together, we’ll be married, too. Maybe he’s going to propose this Christmas. Bwah! Yeah, right.

Exhibit B

Boo and Radley were showing me their Christmas stockings….

Boo: “Where’s Thoughts’s stocking?”

Kiefer: “We have one for her. I just need to get a hook for it. We should just go ahead and put her name on it, too. I have some glitter glue and puffy paint.”

What He Probably Meant: I should put her name on it so I don’t accidently put that lingerie I bought her in one of the boys’ stockings.

My Interpretation: Putting my name on it means we’ll be together for-ev-er! Glitter glue and puffy paint can’t be undone. It’s permanent.

 Exhibit C

Kiefer and I were watching The Nightmare Before Christmas. He’d never seen it, and I love that movie!

Kiefer: “That movie was good. We should be Jack and Sally next Halloween.”

Me: “That would be awesome!”

My Suspicions: Who are you, and what have you done with my boyfriend? The real Kiefer never wants to do matching costumes. Damn pod people.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

23 responses to “Spreading the Christmas Commitment Cheer

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

