Chapter 7: I’ll Be Your Beach

Men are to Rubberbands as Woman are to Waves.

If you don’t know what this post is about, you should (Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus ::cough, cough::). Start with this post and work your way up to this one.

Women are like waves at the beach. (And everyone loves the beach.) Women’s moods are like the waves. Always going up and down.

Unlike men, who want to be left alone, when a woman is down, she needs your love, support, and attention. But she doesn’t want your advice on how to fix her problems, Mr. Fix-It.

Things Men Should Never Say to Women…Ever

  • How many times do we have to go through this? Once a month at least.
  • This is crazy. We’re having the same argument. This isn’t crazy. I’ll show you crazy.
  • I don’t want to deal with this. Well, I don’t want to deal with you!
  •  You shouldn’t be so upset. Fine!

“Telling a woman she shouldn’t feel hurt is about the worst thing a man can say.”

When women are upset, issues will tend to reoccur. Think of it as practice. Like the movie Groundhog Day. You should get better at supporting her. Practice makes perfect.

When a woman is upset, it’s your job to make her feel safe. If you don’t, she’ll pull away from you and avoid intimacy.

No intimacy = No sex.

You don’t want that, do you? Didn’t think so.

Lessons Learned

Women need to be reassured and heard…and held (again I’m adding hugging).

Men, if you need a moment to yourself in the cave, admit it. Say something like “I know you need me to support you right now. But I need a minute in my cave to process things. I love you very very much.” Maybe throw the Post-It note reading “CAVE” on your head as well.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

12 responses to “Chapter 7: I’ll Be Your Beach

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

