I’ll Eat Anything…Except for That. And That.

Once upon a time, there lived an adorable young lady. But as adorable as she was, unfortunately this young lady was incredibly naive. Especially when it came to food.

One night a handsome man, let’s call him “Kiefer Sutherland,” asked her out on a date. The next day they both went to a Beer Festival. The adorable young lady didn’t like beer, but she still had an amazing time with Kiefer chatting and jumping in the moonbounce.

A few dates later…

Kiefer: Would you like to go out to dinner tonight, Adorable?

Adorable (batting eyelashes): Yes, I’d love to!

Kiefer: Well, what kind of food do you like?

Adorable blushed. She’d been so busy talking about desserts, she forgot to mention that she did indeed eat nondessert food.

Adorable: Oh, I’ll eat just about anything. I’m not picky.

So Kiefer decided to take Adorable to the Mediterranean Grill because she’d never been there. As Adorable perused the menu, panic set it.

  • What the hell kind of salad comes with pistachios, sunflower seeds, and green raisins? It would take her forever to pick all of that off.
  • Why does everything have eggplant in it?
  • Babaghannush? That’s a real food? She thought it was a gibberish word Bugs Bunny made up.
  • Cacik? Yogurt with cucumbers? Eww. She liked her yogurt with fruit.

She didn’t want anything on the menu. And although she ordered a salad and tried a stuffed grape leaf, she hated it. All of it.

Every day since, Kiefer has teased her. Finally Adorable realized that she really was a picky eater…extremely picky.

The End.

Consider this post the background information needed for #9 and #10 on the 30 Before 30 List. Posts are forthcoming.

PS: Please tell me they have more than eggplant and stuffed grape leaves to eat in the Mediterranean. If not, I’ll need to pack a lot of Pop-Tarts when I finally go there.

*Thank you Artichoke Hearts for the image. I’m sure people who actually like stuffed grape leaves would find these very tasty. If these contributed to the engagement you mention, let me know, and I’ll learn to love ’em.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

14 responses to “I’ll Eat Anything…Except for That. And That.

  • Denise

    lol. From one picky eater to another, you will be relieved to know that they do eat more than that in the Mediterranean. however, you will not find any instant mug cakes or lots of processed foods there.

    My disclaimer is always that I do not eat anything from 3rd world countries or Hungry Howies (it’s an awful Pizza chain here in FL). You would be surprised how many countries count as 3rd world in my mind. lol

    • thoughtsappear

      I completely understand about the 3rd world country thing. I only eat what I like to call “normal” food…and that does not include the Ethiopian restaurant in our town, Mediterranean Grill, sushi, Indian food, and the list goes on like that.

      That’s sad about the pizza place. I’ve heard people say even when pizza is bad, it’s good. But I’ve definitely had pizza I won’t eat.

      • embeepee

        This post was so amusing! I’m sorry you had such an unfortunately experience with stuffed grape leaves! They’re not the first thing I order either :).

        I have to admit though I bristled a bit with the 3rd world remarks, as I come from a place you’ll certainly call “3rd world” and have never suffered any culinary agony. It’s one thing to be a picky eater and dislike something but it’s a bit unfair to argue that only underdeveloped countries have icky food, especially when flavor profiles of Southeast Asian and Latin American cooking are so ingrained in American culture now. (It’s also quite an elitist thing to say. Sorry, can you tell the phrase irks me?). France and England and Japan are first-world countries and while I love their cuisines I would NEVER (unless under pain of death — or bribery in the six figures) try escargot, black pudding, or shrimp that’s still alive.

        When abroad I hear many complain about American food and its many unpronounceable ingredients and preservatives, its healthiness (or lack thereof), and its peculiarities (fried Coke, anyone?). But as I love the food here as much as food back home, I defend the good parts of it as best I can. But that’s just me as a relatively non-picky eater. I love eating!

        I guess what I’m trying to say is: icky food is universal. And while my intent here is not to convince you to try anything you don’t want to try (I have a friend who is staunchly picky and I just let her do her thing), I will say that there is delicious food to be found all over the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd worlds.

        Back on topic, though, I hope you ended up trying better restaurants and dishes together!

        • mct88

          Good points. I’m trying to get friends here to expand their food horizons. Apparently, I’m the only one that likes to try new and “exotic” things.

        • thoughtsappear

          Sorry about upsetting you. Definitely was not my intention.

          You’re right. Since I don’t even like all American food, it’s unfair to single out other places.

          Totally with you on the escargot.

  • The Idiot Speaketh

    Finally! a food pic that does NOT make me hungry! Thanks! 🙂

  • letmestartbysaying

    Nothing wrong with being pic– I mean, knowing what you like.

    About 10 years ago Hubby & I went to China. I’ve never eaten so much white rice in my life. Seeing that I don’t eat seafood, meat, unidentifiable meat, or things no one will tell me what they are…..I stuck to rice.

  • mct88

    HAha, this is awesome. i’m definitely not a picky eater. My sister on the other hand is very picky. If you don’t have some kind of “ordinary” meat with white rice. She WILL go hungry!

    I babysat 2 kids a few years ago and they wouldn’t eat FRIED RICE! OMG I just ordered pizza for their lunch and dinner. CRAZINESS.

    On the other hand I will most likely eat it if you don’t tell me what’s in it-nasty organ stuff. I LOVE trying other ethnic food as well.

  • Aly

    Yeah, as the world’s fussiest eater, that would have TERRIFIED ME.

  • scarletsculturegarden

    They have more than aubergines in the Med but…. everything pretty much comes with aubergines. I tried to pick the most meaty things on the menu, since I thought that would help get over aubergines. I was overloaded!

  • jimmychoomall

    Oh! Look picture, I am vrey hungry.Too tempting.

    Jimmy choo

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

