In the Smores Family: Graham Cracker Bars

Boo loves smores. He loves smores so much that he frequently forgets the other dessert categories, like ice cream, cake, cookies, and pie.

Boo: Want to eat smores for dessert?

Me: Again? We’ve had smores twice this week already.

Soon smores will become the new brussel sprouts. I’ll be trying to sneakily spit the smore into my napkin. Then Kiefer will catch me and sternly reprimand me: “You’re not getting up from this table until you finish your smore, young lady.”

And there I will stubbornly sit, arms crossed over my chest and pouting. When he turns his back, I’ll stick my tongue at him or make other obscene gestures.

Bars Without Powdered Sugar

In an effort to save our relationship from smore ruin, I decided to try out this recipe: Graham Cracker Bars. My buddy blogger at Themes N’ Things sent it to me.

  • 1 box of graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 cup of chopped walnut (I left these out because I don’t like nuts.)
  • 1 package of chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1 stick of butter, softened
  • 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk

Mix it all together, and bake in a greased square pan at 350 for 25 minutes. After they’ve cooled, flip the pan over onto a cutting board (awesome idea!). The dessert goodness falls out, and it’s easier to cut. Cut it into squares, and then roll the square in powdered sugar.

Themes N’ Things recommends serving with a sign that says, “Do not Inhale.”

Because I have no patience, I ate one that was still warm before it the powdered sugar step. It was broken anyways. What’s that you say? Maybe I purposely broke it? I admit to nothing!

So good. It was like a warm chocolate chip cookie. I might have eaten two. Actually it’s a wonder there were any left to serve at the 4th of July picnic I attended.

The sign is  there for a reason, people. Read and obey the sign!

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

7 responses to “In the Smores Family: Graham Cracker Bars

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

