Hi, My Name Is Thoughts Appear, and I’m Addicted to Books

Picture Idea Credit Goes to The Whatever Factor

I may have a small problem.

It’s impossible for me to leave Borders Bookstore without buying a book. There. I admitted it. You can read more about it at Libraries Need Hot Chocolate.

Luckily the summer has lessened my cravings for hot chocolate, so I only have a backlog of 4 books:

  • Boy Meets Girl by Meg Cabot
  • Bite Me by Christopher Moore
  • Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris
  • The Third Angel by Alice Hoffman

Which to read next…. Has anyone read any of these?

Boy Meets Girl scares me a little. I’ve never read anything by Meg Cabot. Usually I read the first couple pages before I buy a book, but Kiefer Sutherland was rushing me, so I only read the back. Imagine my surprise when I open the book to find it full of emails. What the…. I’m not a trendy teenager. If there are funny spelled text messages in this book, I refuse to read it.

Bite Me. I read Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff by Christopher Moore and loved it. I laughed out loud. The opening scene when Biff sees Jesus with a lizard in his mouth and yells “Unclean! Unclean!”  is flippin’ funny.

Unfortunately, Bite Me is the third book in a series, and I haven’t read the first two…so…stupid, stupid me.

Dead Until Dark is the book the TV series True Blood is based on. I like the TV show (please don’t hate me for joining the vampire craze), so I need to see what the book is all about. Usually I read the book first, but I didn’t know there was a book until after I watched the first season. Honest.

The Third Angel. Truthfully, I bought this book because it was on sale. I’ve read some other books by Alice Hoffman. They’re dark and depressing, but sometimes I’m in the mood to be depressed.

Feel free to start psychoanalyzing me now.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

15 responses to “Hi, My Name Is Thoughts Appear, and I’m Addicted to Books

  • lunaleska

    I’d say GO for Meg Cabot… I love her books, I haven’t yet read this one, but I do plan on buying it! Or else the vampire one… I also fell into the vampire craze and is currently ADDICTED to Vampire diaries as well as reading Anne Rice for the second time.
    The whole vampire thing is awesome as long as the writer can WRITE!! A suggestion, try Vampire Academy… It’s a series of books, VERY well written with a brilliant story line. And you can start any where in the series, I started with the third book and didn’t realize it till I was half way through… [that’s a good thing right?!?!?]

    Sorry for the long comment.. Books get me going like that

    • thoughtsappear

      After your post the other day, I added the Anne Rice vampire books to my list of books to get from Borders or the library.

      I’ve heard good stuff about the Vampire Academy books as well.

      Never apologize for long comments. They are always welcome! Especially when they contain book recommendations. =)

  • firekeeper30

    The True Blood books are amazing. They are completely different from the show, but I myself think the books are a little better then the show.

  • welcome to the middle of life

    I was obsessed with the Anne Rice books when they first came out. Loved them! Kinda creepy yet sexy and well written.
    I understand the book addiction. I had to cancel my Costco membership because I was buying WAY too many books every time I went in. My reasoning was that someday I would have a giant library of my own so I needed to start planning for that…

    • thoughtsappear

      Note to self: Never go to Costco.

      I would love to have my own library. That would be so awesome. Once you get your library set up, I’d like to request a library card from you. =)

  • Aly

    I agree – do the True Blood series. I’ve read all of them (bar the newest one that’s just come out) and they’re great – much better than True Blood (even though I love the show!) and fairly easy reads, which I love. I haven’t heard of the others.. I’m still buried in about three different novels right now and need to come up for air at some point soon!

  • leashieloo

    As far as I’m concerned, “True Blood” is the only legit vampire franchise out there at the moment. The books are awesome! I only got into the show after reading the first and second installments.

  • redriverpak

    My Psychoanalysis reveals that you have issues with overweight cab drivers, a fear of frogs, a borderline psychotic infatuation with blood products, you most likely roll your toothpaste up from the bottom, you cried when you Dad flushed your Goldfish, and all the hangers in your closet are most likely the same color.

    Eerie How dead on I am isn’t it? 🙂

  • simplyblueiis

    I swear to God that we blog about the exact same things. A few weeks ago, I blogged about the fact that I had forty-five books on my shelves that I haven’t read, but going to Chapters (the Cdn version of Borders) always results in yet another purchase. Thankfully, Chapters has Starbucks, and Starbucks has Chai Lattes.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

