Susan G. Komen Run in Washington, DC

As I said in an earlier post, I’m Running for the Cure, and Cupcakes Aren’t Involved. I participated in the Susan G. Komen Global 5K in Washington, DC, on Saturday.

What an experience. Pink everywhere. Anyone who didn’t know people were supporting breast cancer might have thought the world was about to be overpopulated with newborn baby girls.

Some people ran on teams. Award for the best team name goes to Saving Second Base.

Kiefer Sutherland, Boo,  Radley, and I all “ran” the 5K.

Usually I make fun of people who put their children on leashes, but oh, how I wanted one for Boo and Radley at that moment. Boo and Radley are 9 and 7 respectively, and they know better than to randomly disappear.

But in that mess of 40,000+ runners, I panicked the entire time. I remembered Denise’s blog post and thought, “Oh my god, I didn’t take a picture of their shoes!”

I’d say the 4 of us ran about a half to three quarters of a mile before Boo and Radley decided it was time to walk. So for the rest of the 5K, we alternated between walking and running. I lost track of the number of times Kiefer and I said, “Let’s just run to that traffic light, and then we’ll walk again” or “We have to run by the cheerleaders.” Funny how even young boys are motivated to look good for hot cheerleaders.

We finished the run in just under an hour.

One thing that I heard at the run that really disturbed me was that someone believed that “we” already have the cure for breast cancer, but it’s being kept a secret. I can’t even begin to describe how much this saddened me. Are people really that greedy that they’d keep something like that a secret just because of all the money surrounding it? Or maybe I should be asking are people really that into conspiracy theories?

I raised $330 to help fight breast cancer. A big thanks to everyone who sponsored me!

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

9 responses to “Susan G. Komen Run in Washington, DC

  • Denise

    Congrats on your run/walk!

    lol! Sorry if I freaked you a out a bit. Panicking a little is good – it is better than being complacent. Thanks for the link- 40K people would freak me out too! I am not a fan of children on leashes either and one thing u learn is even when children know better they still don’t aways do what they know:)

    I would hope that when a cure is found it would not be held back just because of the money that would be lost from the insurance and drug companies. I would hope that for any disease. It sometimes saddens me to think about why it doesn’t seem we are any closer to cures than we were before. Although I would think that the cure would cost just as much to distribute so I’m not convinced they would lose any money.

    • thoughtsappear

      No worries! I wasn’t seriously freaked out. Just a little at the beginning when everyone was packed in and the first half mile of the run everyone was really close.

      I would think the cure would cost just as much, too. Hopefully we’re not too far away.

  • Aly

    Well done! I can’t run 5k on my own, let alone with kidlets- so well done you.

  • unabridgedgirl

    Boo and Radley. Boo Radley. Like out of, To Kill a Mockingbird? That’s kind of neat. 🙂

    Congrats! Well done!

    • thoughtsappear

      I’m not really sure why I picked Boo Radley from To Kill a Mockingbird…I think because I liked the way it sounded.

      But maybe I should go back and reread it and see if I can come up with a connection.

  • izziedarling

    Thank you, again, for running and this post. Living in the city where the top doctors and researchers in the world work, I can tell you there are amazing discoveries, etc. But their hands are tied behind their backs because of funding. SUCKS.

    • Denise

      that is reassuring to know. I wish the news would discuss these discoveries and stories of hope more, instead of all the bad news they find so compelling to share.

  • The Idiot Speaketh

    Congratulations. I guess I had not yet found your blog when you were seeking sponsors I or I would have gladly pitched in. Great job! And yes…..men do have to run by cheerleaders……it’s a guy thing..

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

