Stupid @!#$&* Proofreading

Whoa…my first rant. I love reading the posts under this tag because it’s funny when people are upset. That sounds like something Happy Bunny (www.jimbenton.com) would say.

My first rant is about me. That’s right. I’m frustrated with myself. Me and my inability to catch stupid proofreading mistakes.

Every day that I blog, I click Post, and then within mere minutes I inevitably click Edit. Doesn’t matter how many times I click Preview, something always slips by me.

Me: Not again! “And then Kiefer Sutherland and I ate monkey cheese?” How did that get there? I meant to type Doritos. They don’t even sound alike!

At least sometimes I catch it within minutes, but there have been times when I’ve been responding to comments the next day and I notice some silly mistake.

Me: Oh my god! That’s been posted for 25 hours, 33 minutes, and 17 seconds! People must think I’m an illiterate idiot who can’t use a comma, spell, or even write sentences that make sense! Nooooooooo! (::Head hung in shame::)

This is especially sad because I’ve been working as an editor and writer for the last 7 or so years. And I’m teaching an English 101 class at the local community class.

How many times have I written this on a student’s paper: “There are several mistakes that could have been caught through careful proofreading. Try using Natural Reader before turning in your next essay”?

Maybe I should use Natural Reader before I post anything. Or maybe WordPress should employ someone to proofread my posts. Think they’d go for it?

I guess I’ll have to settle for “Writing can always be improved. Something can always be changed to make it better.”

Thank goodness WordPress doesn’t have a Red Pen feature for readers to correct my silly mistakes.

Readers, I apologize to you for every single mistake I’ve ever made, and oh, there have been many.

The End. Please return to munching on your monkey cheese.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

13 responses to “Stupid @!#$&* Proofreading

  • Denise

    You are not alone- even after 15 + years as a writer/editer it’s inevitable. We are only human and we are much harder on ourselves than anyone else could ever be. I’ve had bosses tell me it’s fine as I sat there mad at myself and insisting it wasn’t fine- I expect more from myself. Sometimes, when you are too close and have been stareing at something for so long yuo don’t see the obvious- that whole seeing the forest for the trees thing.

    I thank the tech world every day for not having to use a typwriter or I’d really be in trouble!

  • blogmella

    Hahaha! I do this all the time. I see mistakes as soon as I’ve posted something – in the same way as I notice my house is a sh*t hole the moment someone says they are dropping by. It has something to do with focus. 😉

  • shoutabyss

    Happy Bunny rocks. 🙂

    I have the same problem with proofreading, especially in uneditable comments. 🙂

    I just accept it as part of the publishing process that I end up editing each post about 20 times.

    My goal is to post wearing three “hats.”

    1. The writer’s hat
    2. The editor’s hat
    3. The reader’s hat

    Of course that all takes time and effort so I seldom meet that goal.

    And don’t sell monkey cheese short. That’s a perfect snack for a keyboard monkey like me! 🙂

  • Amy

    I do this exact same thing! Just when I think I’ve unspliced every comma and unsplit every infinitive, as soon as I click on Publish, I see a mistake. It’s the only time that I’m grateful that only about 10 people read my blog!

  • firekeeper30

    I’m the same!

  • izziedarling

    You are not alone. I read and proof and read and proof and if it’s not one thing, it’s another. P.S. the WP spellcheck is beyond awful. And, “cram it” – love, haven’t heard since high school. 🙂

    • thoughtsappear

      The WP spellcheck scares me. I’m constantly using dictionary sites to check the spelling instead.

      Even as I’m typing this…spellcheck is underlined red. Spellchecker? Nope. I guess it’s spell check with a space. Whatever. I like to close words up.

  • confessionsofadizzyblonde

    Oh my, that sounds like me – I proof read it three times. I post it. I read it again. Somehow, I have managed to post something that sounds like something a three year old would say in places. So I edit. Read it again. Find more mistakes…and on it goes. Feels good to know I’m not the only blind writer around..

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

