I’m Running for the Cure and Cupcakes Aren’t Involved

May I have your attention please? I’d like to announce that sweets are not my only motivation for exercise.

Remember Stage a Sugar Intervention and Creepy Cupcakes Will Be the Death of Me? I never even turned in my coupon for the free cupcake from that run.

Today in Maryland it is over 90 degrees, and it is flippin’ hot. And today of all days, I felt the need to register for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. It better not be 90 degrees on the day of the run.

In addition to my own colon cancer screening, over the last couple months, a few people I know have been diagnosed with cancer, and it’s been a bit scary to have it so close.

So I’m tagging this post…

  • “Brave” for the people who struggle with cancer every day.
  • “Life” because hopefully the money from the race will extend some of those lives.
  • “Love” for all the people who have breast cancer or know someone who has it. Know that I’m sending some love your way.

Anyways, if you’d like to sponsor me, here’s my page: Sponsor Thoughtsy to Pass Out While Running the Race for the Cure.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

10 responses to “I’m Running for the Cure and Cupcakes Aren’t Involved

  • themesnthings

    Dear Angie,
    My thoughts are with you after your latest post. I lost both my Father to brain cancer and my favorite brother-n-law to renial cancer. What I personally went through during both these times was hard to deal with, but I stepped up to plate, forgot all of my own selfishness needs, and took care of them both every waking second I had. I learned too early that “life is too short” and watching someone dying of cancer is truly hard on you and your loved ones. Your mind races, you don’t know what to do, you start telling yourself things like “oh, I have to get the laundry done or I need to do this or that”, then you finally wake up and say “Yeah, and if for those brief moments that I am selfish and are not tending to my loved ones and they pass away, I would never be able to live with myself as the guilt would eat you alive. My advice to anyone who has a loved one that has cancer is to “step up to the plate” and be there for them, no matter what you have to do, just do it! Your post hit me hard today and has made me cry (wiping the tears from my eyes) because all I have left are the memories of my loved ones. And since my brother-n-law’s favorite band was U2, I cannot listen to “It’s a Beautiful Day” without crying. If you ever need anthing, I will be there for you for support.

    Valerie

    • thoughtsappear

      Valerie, I’m so sorry to hear about your father and brother-in-law. I’m also sorry that my post made you cry. My eyes are actually tearing up at the thought of it. Thank you for offering your support.

  • unabridgedgirl

    I am losing a good friend to cancer right now, and lost another friend just two months ago. It is a hard thing. Thank you for running!

  • izziedarling

    Angie – will donate for sure, great cause (my mother & sister are survivors! rah!). Thank you for doing this. IZ

  • Denise

    Good for you! Good luck with your fundraising and hopefully, my Susan G Komen fundraising posts might give you some ideas. Some members of that team will be guest blogging on my site as well.

    Good luck with your training too. I am so amazed at women who participate in this. I can’t even imagine walking 60 miles.

    You deserve an entire case of cupcakes for doing this!

    • thoughtsappear

      Thanks, Denise! This is just the 5K run. I can’t imagine doing the multiple day run/walk. It’s 3 days, right? That’s a good idea about the guest bloggers! I’ll keep an eye out for them.

  • Kelly

    Walking and/or running for a good cause is always such an amazing experience! This one is especially good – it affects so many people. My aunt is a survivor, so thanks for running for her. Good luck!

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

