Margarita Cupcakes…Because It’s 5:00 Somewhere

Before I begin, let’s get one thing straight: I do not cook. I hardly ever cook for Kiefer Sutherland and I. Usually it comes from a bag, and I just need to heat it up.

When I do make something from scratch, it’s easy and has very few ingredients. Five or less. Or fewer. No more than five. Whatever.

And I take short cuts. What’s that? 3 Tablespoons of chopped onion? How about I just use onion powder instead? Nothing fancy schmancy. I don’t like onions anyway.

Baking is totally different. Probably because of all the sugar and chocolate involved.

This weekend I made margarita cupcakes. I saw the cupcakes on someone else’s blog months ago, but they didn’t post a recipe, so I Googled it. (Yes, “Googled.” “Binged” sounds silly.)

My first reaction was, Grated lime peel? That’s in the spice aisle, right?

It wasn’t. So not only did I have to buy a lime so I could use its peel, I also had to buy a grater. Already these cupcakes were an inconvenience.

That’s what happens when you stray from good ol’ chocolate, people. We have chocolate chips, chocolate shavings, chocolate syrup, and chocolate powder. But when it comes to lime…nothing.

Here’s my proof that I actually grated a fresh lime peel. I was so tempted to just throw in some lime juice instead.

Kiefer’s son Boo and I made the icing from scratch. I wasn’t a huge fan of the cream cheese icing. Next time, I’ll use vanilla icing…from the store. Although the cupcake itself was soooooo good that it didn’t really need the icing.

So here’s the final cupcake. I’m a little disappointed that my cupcake didn’t have more of a muffin top. Rise, cupcake, rise! Reach for the sky!

I bought sprinkles to put around the edge of the cupcake so it would look like the sugared or salted rim on margarita drinks, but I ran out of time, and I envisioned myself getting really frustrated and sprinkles flying everywhere.

Some other cute ideas to decorate would be to stick a straw in the cupcakes or put a candy (or real) lime slice on it.

Here’s what you need for margarita cupcakes:

  • White cake mix (I think Duncan Hines is the best. Follow the box’s baking instructions for temperature and time.)
  • 10 oz frozen margarita mix (thawed)
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 tablespoon lime peel gratings
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3 oz tequila

Here’s what you need for the icing:

  • 8 tablespoons of butter
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon lime peel gratings
  • 4 cups of confectioner’s sugar
About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

10 responses to “Margarita Cupcakes…Because It’s 5:00 Somewhere

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

