Zap On, Zap Off…The Zapper

Last Thursday was my first bikini Alase appointment (funded by Mephistopheles me). Here’s who is doing the zapping: Reveal Medspa. They’re awesome. I’m really happy with how my legs turned out a couple years ago.

After checking in, they let you hang out in the “sanctuary,” which is a dimly lit room with big comfy, cushiony chairs, candles, and candy. (I’m impressed with all the “C” words I just used in that sentence.) They also give you a warm, fuzzy robe to wear.

Next the nurse/technician leads you back to a room that looks like a doctor’s exam room. One minute you think you’re at a spa, and the next minute you’re having flashbacks to your yearly checkup. Feet in the stirrups. Now just scoot down a little more, a little more…too far! ::shudder::

Just kidding. The Alase experience is actually really comfortable (despite my half-nakedness), and the people are very nice.

First, the nurse draws on you with a white colored pencil. Sweet, I’m turning into a color by number! Where’s the blue? Gimme the blue!

 Ok, not really. She’s actually outlining where she plans on zapping.

 So I’m sitting there completely naked (pronounced “neck-ed”) with my legs stretched straight out, but they’re also squeezed together. Not that this is hard to do.

Me: Large thighs run in my family; it has nothing to do with the massive amount of sweets that I consume, ok?

You: Sure, sure….

You also get sunglasses. They protect your eyes from the laser. Probably Oakleys….

Next comes the goo. I think it’s a cooling gel. They spread it all over the soon-to-be-zapped area.

Finally, the zapper makes an appearance. And it looks like this:

(Image from Digital Buzz Blog)

Actually it looks like the hand scanner they use at the grocery store. A little anticlimatic. The thing beeps and emits a hair-killing red flash when the nurse puts it against your skin. Die, hair, die!

Sometimes it stings a little, but barely. They offer you a numbing cream. I used it a couple times on my legs years ago, but it’s messy so I’d rather just power through.

And that’s it. The whole thing took maybe 20 minutes. Just 5 more sessions!

If you go, tell them I referred you, and I think we both get discounts. =)

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

10 responses to “Zap On, Zap Off…The Zapper

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

