The Gray Area: Love it or Hate it?

Warning: This may be too much thought for so early in the morning, so grab your coffee and a muffin before you start reading. I do promise to end on a light note.

A few  good friends (Blarney, Princess, Starfish, and Puddin’–who I’ll write more on later) have recently brought up the “gray area.” Most issues are not black or white. There’s almost always a gray area.

Some people say that the black and white regions are small, and the gray area is large, but I think maybe it’s the opposite. If the gray area is something that’s not clear cut or something you’re not sure about, shouldn’t it be small? If you truly know yourself, shouldn’t you have most things figured out?

I’ve learned a lot about myself over the last couple years. I know that there are things I can handle and things I can’t. But there are still things I’m confused about. For example, in just about every Jodi Picoult book that I read, there’s an issue that I have to think long and hard about what I would do if I was a character in her book. Usually I come to a conclusion, but  occasionally I don’t.

I’m always having conflicting feelings about the gray area.

  • Hate it: When issues are clear cut, it’s easier for to make decisions. For example, lying is wrong. If you lie to me, you’re gone.
  • Love it: The gray area sometimes is an exception. And there’s almost always an exception.
  • Hate it: Sometimes in emotional turmoil I want something to be an exception. And sometimes it is, usually it’s not. So sometimes the gray area creates false hope or lures me into a false sense of security.
  • Love it: The gray area makes me think about who I am and what it really is that I want.
  • Hate it: Thinking is hard.

So how do you know when you’re in the good or bad gray area? Is there a Magic 8 Ball for this?

Why can’t the gray area be more like this picture? Cute and cuddly.

(Thank you for the pic, icanhascheezburger.)

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

One response to “The Gray Area: Love it or Hate it?

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

