Lists, Oh How I Love You. Let Me List the Ways.

You probably know it’s been a bit of a rough few weeks. Or may be you don’t know. Maybe my humor has done an excellent job at covering up my frustration. Ever since Let’s Move in Together…or Not, I’ve had to do a lot of thinking about what I’m ok with and what I’m not ok with.

For example, am I ok with waiting a little longer for Kiefer Sutherland? On one hand, like Diana Ross says, “you can’t hurry love.” (Remember my life is based on a song now, not a movie.) Because if Kiefer Sutherland is the right man for me, shouldn’t I be willing to wait however long it takes? But on the other hand, if he’s the right man for me, shouldn’t he also be willing to do whatever it takes to make me happy? Isn’t part of being with the right person also being on the same timeline/page?

Some people say you shouldn’t compromise. But I told Blarney once that I thought that was a little selfish. However, I do think that you should make sure the person you’re with is worth a compromise before you do it.

Anyways I’ve decided that yes, I can wait a little longer. Loads of emphasis on the word little.

Why do my Friday posts always end up being on such serious topics? They’re like a thoughts/word purge before the weekend.

So on to why I titled this post Lists, Oh How I Love You. Kiefer and I had A LOT to talk about. And one of the things that’s so awesome about us discussing things is how easy it is. Hence my first list:

  • We’re both good listeners.
  • He understands my insane train of thought and rambling.
  • We both try to make each other laugh through the serious parts.
  • We take lots of hugging breaks.

Ever the planner, I made a list of all the things we needed to discuss. I didn’t want to forget anything and have it bug me later. I even thought about the best order. Of course, as I’m explaining how I made a list, have a specific order, and even have a visual aid, he’s grinning from ear to ear. You know why? Because he thinks it’s cute. How cute is him thinking my list is cute?

Despite the list of serious topics we discussed, we had a lot of fun doing it. Lists are my new favorite thing, and here’s why:

  1. I can see the beginning, the middle, and the end.
  2. I can figure out the best order and transitions.
  3. I know I won’t forget anything and worry about it later.
  4. A list is a crutch! Like notecards for a speech.
  5. Writing a list is still writing. And writing is one of my strengths.
  6. I can blame the list and pretend I didn’t write it. “Well, it’s on the list, and we have to follow the list….”
  7. Lists make me cute.

I wonder if grocery lists will have the same effect on Kiefer…Hmmm….

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

4 responses to “Lists, Oh How I Love You. Let Me List the Ways.

  • izziedarling

    Love this! And remember … the dullest pencil has a better memory than the sharpest mind!

  • redriverpak

    You have inspired me to now refer to my wife as Connie Selleca. You might not remember her, she was big when you were a toddler, but she is my Kiefer Sutherland….I will have to think up appropriate hollywood names for my kids, that may take awhile….

    • thoughtsappear

      I looked her up on IMDB, but I’ve only seen a couple things she’s been in. I think it’s fun to use the celebrity names.

      I can’t remember why I decided to call Kiefer’s kids Boo and Radley. I wish I could call up some How to Kill a Mockingbird reference, but I think I just liked saying “Boo.” And they like to hide and then jump out to try and scare me.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

