Taking a Tiny Bite Out of the Big Apple

The Big Apple. I love it. One of the first times I went, a pigeon crapped on my friend’s head. Ahh the memories….

This weekend my friend, who we shall call Princess, and I ventured up to NYC. Every year we drive up and see a show and do some shopping. It’s a tradition. (Cue Tevye.)

We knew last year’s trip would be hard to beat. A future rapper stopped us on the street trying to get us to buy his CD. I didn’t buy his CD, but Princess took our picture together, so I’ll have it when he makes it big. Unfortunately, after the picture, he planted a big wet kiss on my cheek. Ewwww!!!

Half of the people in the city were walking around with Swine Flu masks on, so I didn’t feel bad about dousing my cheek in antibacterial soap as soon as we rounded the corner.

We also saw The Little Mermaid. Little girls everywhere we dressed up as Disney princesses. I’m so taking my daughter (when I get around to actually having one).

Anyways, when Ursula tries to convince Ariel to give up her voice, the cutest-random-little-girl-voice ever shouted, “Don’t do it, Ariel!” And cuteness overfloweth…

This year I didn’t meet a rapper, and Princess and I actually saw a show I had seen before: Phantom of the Opera. I saw it over 10 years ago on Broadway, but it was still great. Great to watch Princess’s face when she saw some of the special effects. And there were even a few surprises for me. I swear they added an electric guitar to a song and a saxophone to another. Whatever they did, it sounded really cool.

I’ve seen Phantom (twice), Les Mis, Wicked (3 times), The Lion King, Miss Saigon, Avenue Q, and Jekyll and Hyde. I’ve been to the Empire State Building (twice), FAO Schwartz (too many times to count), Mars 2112, the Jekyll and Hyde Club, Greenwich Village, Astoria, and Central Park.

I’ve seen the Gay Pride Parade and been in NYC on St. Patty’s Day.

And I’ve even ridden the subway. Against my will every time. I’m the one sporting the deer-in-headlights look and clinging to a pole like it’s a life raft. All that and there’s still much more I need to do.

I love visiting NYC, and I can’t wait for my next trip there. Hopefully it will be to see The Addams Family or Mary Poppins. I’ve got Boo and Radley working on Kiefer Sutherland as we speak.

Look, it’s me on a Chococat Pez Sugar High.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

2 responses to “Taking a Tiny Bite Out of the Big Apple

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

