Human Trafficking in 2010

Did you know that human trafficking is the second largest criminal activity in the world? Me neither.  I needed to burst someone else’s naivete bubble. (Drugs is number 1 and illegal arms is number 3.)

How horrible! I found this out while doing some reading this morning, and my day is been pretty somber since. 

Am I the only person who didn’t know this? I admit to being probably the least-informed person ever when it comes to politics, causes, etc.

My contributions are the following: I bought a Save Darfur CD and the proceeds from the Cupcake Run went to troubled youth, but that’s it. But this human trafficking thing I may need to look into. Anyone have suggestions on books or sites  on this topic?

At the very least I’ll be watching Taken again with a entirely new perspective.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

One response to “Human Trafficking in 2010

  • SMUCoxWeb

    Check out http://www.antislavery.org It’s mindblowing. I live in Dallas, Texas and just last year a slavery ring was busted right here! They were smuggling in young Asian girls – mostly Korean and Vietnamese and forcing them to work as prostitutes. It was part of a nationwide ring. Every time the local police would start getting to close, they’d shift the girls to another city. I cannot tell you how appalled I am to have the enslavement of women in my town in my lifetime. I can’t tell you how often I drove past the establishment in question on my way home from work – with out a clue that young girls were being enslaved right there.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

