Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed, Blue, Old, and New

Emily Giffin may be my new favorite author. When asked previously who my favorite author is, I’ve answered with Gregory Maguire, Philippa Gregory, Jodi Picoult, and the list goes on. But now I’m answering Emily Giffin. (She was born in Baltimore…good, ol’, B-more.)

My two favorites are Something Borrowed and Something Blue.  The books were full of flags where I marked passages that I really enjoyed. I loved how they involved the same characters and their relationships.

Heart of the Matter comes out May 11, 2010, and that date can’t come soon enough.

Maybe now would be a good time to clarify the title of the post. It stinks that the love of Rachel’s life ended up being her best friend’s fiance. I’m definitely not condoning the affair, but I love the way that Rachel stands up for herself, goes after want she wants, and isn’t afraid to give Dex the ultimatum.

 

Here are some of my favorite quotes from Something Borrowed:

“But I have learned that you make your own happiness, that part of going for what you want means losing something else. And when the stakes are high, the losses can be that much greater.”

“When you are in a relationship, you are aware that it might end. You might grow apart, find someone else, simply fall out of love. But a friendship isn’t a zero-sum game, and as such, you assume that it will last forever, especially an old friendship. You take its permanence for grandted, which might be the very thing so dear about it.”

“This is why you should never, ever get your hopes up. This is why you should see the glass as half empty. So when the whole thing spills, you aren’t as devastated.”

“In short, I have no real faith in my own happiness. And then there is Darcy. She is a woman who believes that things should fall into her lap, and consequently, they do. They always have. She wins because she expects to win. I do not expect to get what I want, so I don’t. And I don’t even try.”

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

One response to “Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed, Blue, Old, and New

  • unabridgedgirl

    I’ve never read Emily Giffin, though I have passed her books several times at B&N. I’ll have to give her a try!

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

