Stage a Sugar Intervention

I think I can finally admit that I have a real problem. Sugar, we’ve had a nice run, but now I’m doing things that are so out of character for me.

You know what I’m talking about. I never would have registered for the 5K Cupcake Run without the promise of cupcakes and other yummy treats. Is there a 12-step program to kick a sweets habit?

 

I eat ALOT of sweets, primarily chocolate. But I also eat tons of fruits and veggies and exercise almost every day to counteract the insane amount of sugar I consume. I primarily do tons of exercise videos. I like the fun, kickboxing, dance, cardio, aerobic ones. (I recommend Crunch and Yoga Booty Ballet if you’re looking.) I’m not the most coordinated person, so I prefer to do the routines in my living room, not the gym. When I’m at the gym, I love the elliptical machines.

Last spring I decided I need to learn to run, well, jog. I love putting on my headphones and just getting lost while working out. Why not learn to run and enjoy being outside while exercising? I figured I do tons of cardio, so I should be ok at running.

If I only knew…Running is hard! I’m in awe of anyone who does it. I bow down at your feet humbly.

I can’t even do a mile! I get to .9, and I think “Close enough!” (In my defense, the area by my house is primarily uphill.) I think I lasted about 2-3 weeks before it got too hot for me to run.

And there’s the whole sweating thing. I love working out, I hate sweating. Yes, I said sweat. Other women may glisten, but I sweat. I need a fan pointed directly at me and that’s not an option when you’re running.

Anyone want to volunteer to run in front of me with a fan and cupcake on their back that’s just out of reach? Because that’s the only way I’m going to finish this whole race running.

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

4 responses to “Stage a Sugar Intervention

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

