Idiot and Idioms

Disclaimer: I apologize in advance for this post. Once I had one idiom, I couldn’t stop.

I think most people know the Mephistopheles background, but if you don’t, here’s the basics:

  1. He’s my exfiance.
  2. I think he was a pathological liar. (His lies have forever scarred me. I trust no one and question everything.)
  3. While he and I were together, my self esteem plummeted. We’re talking hit negative numbers.
  4. I cosigned on his truck loan, and after we broke up, he totaled it and I got stuck paying an arm and a leg, also known as several thousand dollars. (And this is how I learned one of life’s most valuble lessons: NEVER EVER put your name on anything with anyone unless you’re married.)
  5. In January 2009, out of the blue, I received one check for the truck money. It coincided with a visit from a Security Clearance Investigations Officer.

Now that you’re all caught up on the past. Let’s flash forward to the present.  He and I have had no contact until about a month ago when I received a text saying that he’s going to start mailing me checks. I don’t actually believe him. Don’t count your chickens before they hatch, you know? 

I do receive a check (that clears!) and no visit from investigator.

I just deposited check number 2, and it cleared! What’s with his sudden eagerness to pay me back? I hope he’s turned over a new leaf, or maybe he got a taste of his own medicine? But can a leopard really change his spots? Oh well, at least I’m getting my money back!

Italy, here I come!

About thoughtsappear

I eat lots of sugar. It's the only way to keep up with my new baby and to outrun zombies. View all posts by thoughtsappear

5 responses to “Idiot and Idioms

  • IntrigueMe

    Sounds like you and I have the same ex-fiance… except the bugger never paid ME back!! lol Oh well, I chalk it up to one of life’s big lessons: Never EVER joint your finances. EVER. Even if you’re married. I won’t!!

  • Redneckprincess

    I dated him too, I was a single mom with two small kids, we built a house together, I put all the appliances on my Sears Card with his promise to pay me back. The verbal abuse escalated to the point I knew it was going to become physical, so I left. He never ever made any attempt to pay me back no matter what I said. He made about 100,000 a year, I made about $10,000…nice huh? I learned hard from that one.

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

