I’m in the 25th Grade

Me: I’m taking another sign language class.

Mom: Aren’t you tired of going to school?

Me: Never!

Some days I am tired of going to school. But it’s the act of going, not the learning. If class could come to me, right into my bedroom where I could learn while wearing fake pants, that would be ideal.

I’m 30 years old, and I’ve been in school for most of my life. Here’s a brief history:

  • In 5th grade, I kicked a** at math.
  • In 11th grade, I lost my math smarts.
  • I graduated college in December 2002: a semester early because I was tired of school.
  • By that spring, I was taking Business graduate classes.
  • By the following fall, I decided Business really wasn’t for me. Too much math involved.
  • A few months later, I started Education graduate classes.
  • About a year later, I switched to Humanities graduate classes.
  • Then I took a year off, only to take belly dancing classes and learn to ride a motorcycle instead.
  • Next came the English graduate classes.

You: So you have masters credits in 3 different subjects. Seriously, Thoughtsy. Make up your mind.

  • Once I completed my English Masters, I started teaching at the local community college. Ah-ha! I’m in charge now!
  • Three semesters later, I dropped teaching and started learning American Sign Language (ASL).

I’ll finish the ASL program in about 2-3 years. Then…no more school. Ever.

But…it would be cool to learn Italian. And maybe Spanish.

About thoughtsappear

I'm about to have my first child...who I promised to Rumpelstiltskin. Shhhhhh.... Hopefully he won't find out. View all posts by thoughtsappear

38 responses to “I’m in the 25th Grade

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,159 other followers

