I Would Never Leave You for Maggie Gyllenhaal

Last night I had a bad dream, and since I actually remember it, I’m taking it as a sign that I should blog about it since I never remember my dreams in the morning. 

When I have a nightmare, I usually wake up in the middle of the night covered in sweat, tangled up in sheets, in an odd position in the bed, and sometimes breathing like I just ran a marathon. Correction: breathing like I just ran half a mile….quarter of a mile…like I just ran 10 feet.

One time I actually completely turned around on the bed, and my head was at the bottom of the bed while my feet rested on my pillow. For a few brief moments after waking up, I was sure I had been abducted by aliens, and they had returned me to my bed in the wrong position because the aliens wanted to be sure that I knew they had taken me. (It takes a few minutes for my head to clear when I first wake up.)

In my dream, Kiefer Sutherland and I are at some party having a grand time. And then Maggie Gyllenhaal approaches and strikes up a conversation. My initial thought was Awesome! Until it becomes clear that Maggie Gyllenhaal is talking only to Kiefer and completely ignoring me. Maggie doesn’t even glance in my general direction.

 

Then she threads her arm through Kiefer’s and they walk off together. What the…. As if that wasn’t bad enough, suddenly instead of being at the party, I’m stuck in Kiefer Sutherland’s house. I can’t get out through the doors or the windows.

That’s when I woke up. I immediately roll away from Kiefer because hey, Dream Kiefer sucks and left me, so Real Kiefer must suffer the consequences. After a few minutes, I fling an arm over Real Kiefer because I realize he’s not actually Dream Kiefer, and he would never leave me for Maggie Gyllenhaal (Scarlett Johansson maybe, but not Maggie Gyllenhaal).

Just for reassurance, I texted Kiefer this morning, and he confirmed that he would never leave me for Maggie Gyllenhaal. Dodged that bullet.

Eventually I fall back asleep, and Part 2 of the dream continues. I’m still stuck in Kiefer’s house, and I can’t get out, but kittens are somehow finding a way in. And I mean a lot of kittens.

Suddenly Kiefer Sutherland is back in the house (minus Maggie Gyllenhaal), and he tells me I can keep the kittens in his house. And Kiefer Sutherland is allergic to kittens, so this is kind of a big deal.

Then I woke up. Now I’m left pondering the meaning of it all.

Please post your interpretations.

About thoughtsappear

I'm about to have my first child...who I promised to Rumpelstiltskin. Shhhhhh.... Hopefully he won't find out. View all posts by thoughtsappear

15 responses to “I Would Never Leave You for Maggie Gyllenhaal

  • Denise P

    First of all- if Keifer does wind up leaving u for Scarlett can you have him send Ryan Reynolds my way:)

    Maybe this is all your inner fear coming back about Keifer’s recent bout with commitment phobia and moving forward with your relationship.

    In all of the dream analysis entries I have read on kittens they are all in agreement – kittens signify some sort of trouble ahead or someone toying with your emotions- kind of makes sense in this context. But they are also very specific as to color- you didn’t mention if they were white or other colors.

    But I think his telling you to keep the kittens is a big thing too- it signifies you overcoming your current issues and that everything will work out.

    Hope you have a nightmare-free night tonight!

    • thoughtsappear

      That’s interesting about the color of the kittens. I think there was one of just about every color imaginable: white, black, gray, tabby. I remember holding the white one.

      I’ll remember that you have dibs on Ryan Reynolds. =)

  • themesnthings

    My interpretation of your dream is that you are not settled with something in your life, and it touched the one thing in your life that you love, Kiefer, and the kittens appeared to soothe your soul. Search your heart to find what you are not settled with and find a resolution to that problem. Not all things are black and white in life, we need to roll with the punches as they say. Knowing what I know now, everything in life is of value to me, because loved ones sometimes are taken away from us through death or other circumstances, and then, and only then, do we value what we had with them, so my advice would be to enjoy the day you are in, love who you are with, and treasure the moments you have together. Not everything is black and white, but love will never fail.

  • livingdilbert

    Not even sure how I found your blog, but glad I did. Refreshing!

  • redriverpak

    My Interpretation is that you need to quit putting those halucenogenic mushrooms in your spaghetti sauce…… Now, I might be in the minority…but I would take Maggie over Scarlet anyday….. As I expected, my interpretation is pure rubbish. Excuse me while I go kick a cat…

  • maressasb

    Oh, that is so weird! The other night, I dreamt about a ton of cats, too. In mine, my boyfriend and I were kitten-sitting for someone in a hotel and as I started walking around the hotel room, I noticed that it was filled with big hidden cats that wanted to hurt our kitten. OMG, it was awful!! Of course I proceeded to look up what cats in a dream meant, and like Denise said, it sounds like trouble… Hmm… Not so happy with that.

  • confessionsofadizzyblonde

    It seemed like a fear that got resolved when he let you have the kittens? He was yours again, right?

    Anyway, I love your blog, because it makes me *smile* (ie it’s funny!) =) Thank you!!!

  • Cee Lo and I Save the Environment « Thoughts Appear's Blog

    [...] usually don’t…except the dream where Kiefer left me for Maggie Gyllenhaal. [...]

  • Heather @ SugarDish(Me)

    “Until it becomes clear that Maggie Gyllenhaal is talking only to Kiefer and completely ignoring me. Maggie doesn’t even glance in my general direction.”… A waitress in a sushi restaurant did this to me once. Only filled my boyfriend’s drinks. Placed the food (that was obviously for both of us) directly in front of him. Never gave me a plate. She completely ignored me and the kids. It was pretty blatant to the point where I stopped being insulted and thought the whole thing was funny. I started to wonder if there were hidden cameras.
    But my interpretation of the whole thing was that she really wanted me to poke her in the eye. :)

Leave a Reply...or a Pop-Tart.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,808 other followers

